Belmont Stakes Trivia


It’s the final leg of the Triple Crown and the final part in our Triple Crown Trivia.

How many questions can you answer from our list of Belmont Stakes trivia questions?

The Belmont Stakes horse race dates back 148 years, the 2015 race in June will be the 147th running of the race.
The first Belmont stakes horse race was held in 1867 at the Jerome Park Racetrack in The Bronx, NY. It is the oldest of the Triple Crown horse races.
The Belmont Stakes was given this nickname because nearly every major champion in horse racing history since the early 20th century has raced here. That includes all 12 Triple Crown victors.
Ruthless won the first Belmont Stakes in 1867.
The last Belmont Stakes in 2017, was won by Tapwrit.
After winning the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, California Chrome had a chance to win the Triple Crown at the Belmont Stakes. The colt and his jockey, Victor Espinoza, would fall just short of the prize, coming in  4th place.
The Belmont Stakes is the longest of the Triple Crown horse races, reaching 1 ½ miles.
Sir Barton was the first horse to win the Triple Crown in 1919, with Johnny Loftus as the jockey.
The most recent winner of the prestigious Triple Crown was American Pharoah in 2015. American Pharoah was ridden by jockey Victor Espinoza.
Since its establishment, there have only been 12 horses to win the triple crown with 23 horses winning the first two horse races, but failing to finish in first in the Belmont Stakes. The 12 winners are as follows:

  • Sir Barton in 1919
  • Gallant Fox in 1930
  • Omaha in 1935
  • War Admiral in 1937
  • Whirlaway in 1941
  • Count Fleet in 1943
  • Assault in 1946
  • Citation in 1948
  • Secretariat in 1973
  • Seattle Slew in 1977
  • Affirmed in 1978
  • American Pharoan in 2015
The average number of horses in Triple Crown victories is 5.4 starters.
In losses, the average number of horses in the race reaches 9.2 starters.

Post #1 has proven to be the most successful position in Belmont Stakes history, producing a total of 23 winners. The top five winning post positions are as follows:

  • Post 1: 23 Wins
  • Post 3: 13 Wins
  • Post 5: 13 Wins
  • Post 2: 11 Wins
  • Post 7: 11 Wins

With over 101 wins between them, bay and chestnut colored horses have been most successful in the Belmont Stakes.

  • Bay: 51 Winners
  • Chestnut: 50 Winners
Although there have been 23 total near misses of the Triple Crown, there have been 9 since 1990 and they are:

  • Silver Charm 1997
  • Real Quiet 1998
  • Charismatic 1999
  • War  Emblem 2002
  • Funny Cide 2003
  • Smarty Jones 2004
  • Big Brown 2008
  • I’ll Have Another 2012
  • California Chrome 2014
Secretariat set records for all three stages of the Triple Crown and maintains the atop the competition for the Belmont Stakes with a time of 2:24. To reach this time, he averaged 37.5 mph for the entire horse race. His record still stands for the Preakness as well, reaching the finish line in 1:53.
Rosie Napravnik of New Jersey was the first female jockey to break this barrier in 2013.
There are actually two jockeys who have won the Belmont Stakes horse race 6 times.

  • Eddie Arcaro (1941, 1942, 1945, 1948, 1952, 1955)
  • Jim McLaughlin (1882, 1883, 1884, 1886, 1887, 1888) 
The carnation is the official flower of the Belmont Stakes. Although the origin of this tradition is unknown, carnations stand for love and luck. The flower itself is very hearty, as are the winners of the Belmont Stakes.

The largest upset in Belmont Stakes history was Sarava in 2002. Sarava spoiled War Emblem’s chances of winning the Triple Crown with 70-1 odds.
The most decorated trainer in the Belmont Stakes is James G. Rowe, Sr. with 8 wins (1883, 1884, 1901, 1904, 1907, 1908, 1910, 1913).
The most decorated horse owner is Belair Stud with 6 victories (1930, 1932, 1935, 1936, 1939, 1955).
Secretariat, one of the best race horses of all time, won the race in 1973 by 31 lengths. Each length, or distance between horses, is about 8ft.


What’s At Stake?

The Belmont Stakes may be considered the most exciting of the three horse races of the Triple Crown. Simply anything can happen. Horses with 70-1 odds come out of nowhere to make history, while others strive to be in the company of the 12 Triple Crown champions. With all this excitement, why not place your own bet? Become a member of BetAmerica today, place your bets, and play the odds.