Breeders’ Futurity Stakes

  • Location: Keeneland Race Course, Lexington, KY
  • Inaugural Race: 1910
  • Distance: 1 and 1/16th mile (8.5 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Two Year Olds
  • 2018 Purse: $500,000
  • 2018 Race Date: Saturday, October 6th

Recent Breeders’ Futurity Stakes News

2018 Breeders’ Futurity Stakes Entries and Results

7Knicks GoAlbin JimenezBen Colebrook$142.00$50.40$18.00
1SignalmanBrian Joseph Hernandez, Jr.Kenneth G. McPeek$12.60$7.20
14Standard DeviationJavier CastellanoChad C. Brown$4.40
2SombeyayLuis SaezTodd A. Pletcher
12Derby DateGabriel SaezD. Wayne Lukas
10Mr. AnkenyRobby AlbaradoDale L. Romans
3FluminenseRicardo Santana, Jr.Steven M. Asmussen
6EverfastJack GilliganDale L. Romans
8Tobacco RoadCorey J. LanerieSteven M. Asmussen
9MoonsterTyler GaffalioneDale L. Romans
11BorrachoJames GrahamGeorge R. Arnold, II
5Dream MakerJulien R. LeparouxMark E. Casse
4UnionizerFlorent GerouxWilliam I. Mott

Exotic Payouts

  • $2 Exacta (7-1) Paid: $1,377.80
  • $2 Trifecta (7-1-14) Paid: $10,632.80
  • $2 Superfecta (7-1-14-2) Paid: $55,296.40

Watch the 2018 Breeders’ Futurity Stakes

The History of the Breeders’ Futurity Stakes

One of the mainstays of the juvenile racing calendar, the Breeders’ Futurity was first run in 1910, and moved to Keeneland in 1938, when the race was won by subsequent Kentucky Derby and Belmont Stakes winner Johnstown.

The Breeders’ Futurity is a Breeders’ Cup Challenge “win and you’re in” qualifier for the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile; over the years, Tasso, Boston Harbor, Favorite Trick, and Classic Empire all won both races.

It also forms part of the Road to the Kentucky Derby series. The first four horses across the line earn qualifying points on a 10-4-2-1 basis. Two Breeders’ Futurity winners besides Johnstown have gone on to win the Kentucky Derby: the Triple Crown winner Whirlaway, and Swale.

The race is currently sponsored by Claiborne Farm, which has over the years won the race five times as an owner.