Breeders’ Cup Classic

  • 2019 Location: Santa Anita Park
  • Inaugural Race: 1984
  • Distance: 1 1/4 mile
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Turf
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds and up
  • 2019 Purse: $6.0 million
  • 2019 Race Date: Saturday, November 2rd

2019 Breeders Cup Championship - BetAmerica

2019 Breeders’ Cup Classic – Who’s In?

Below are the probable entries and past race history for the 2019 Breeders’ Cup Classic. Official entries and morning line odds will be posted here when available:

PositionHorseOddsTrainerLast Race (Date)Last Race (Name)FinishChallenge Series Wins
TBDCode of HonorTBDMcGaughey, C9/28/19 BEL-R10Jockey Club Gold Cup1Jockey Club Gold Cup
TBDDraft PickTBDEurton, P9/28/19 SA-R10Awesome Again5n/a
TBDElateTBDMott, W10/6/19 KEE-R9Juddmonte Spinster S.2n/a
TBDGray MagicianTBDMiller, P9/2/19 PRX-R11Smarty Jones2n/a
TBDHigher PowerTBDSadler, J9/28/19 SA-R10Awesome Again3Pacific Classic
TBDMath WizardTBDJoseph Jr, S9/21/19 PRX-R11Pennsylvania Derby1n/a
TBDMcKinzieTBDBaffert, B9/28/19 SA-R10Awesome Again2Whitney Handicap
TBDMongolian GroomTBDGanbat, E9/28/19 SA-R10Awesome Again1Awesome Again Stakes
TBDOmaha BeachTBDMandella, R10/5/19 SA-R9SA Sprint Championship1n/a
TBDOwendaleTBDCox, B9/29/19 RP-R12Oklahoma Derby1n/a
TBDPreservationistTBDJerkens, J9/28/19 BEL-R10Jockey Club Gold Cup4n/a
TBDSeeking the SoulTBDStewart, D9/28/19 SA-R10Awesome Again4Stephen Foster Handicap
TBDTacitusTBDMott, W9/28/19 BEL-R10Jockey Club Gold Cup3n/a
TBDVino RossoTBDPletcher, T9/28/19 BEL-R10Jockey Club Gold Cup2n/a
TBDWar of WillTBDCasse, M9/21/19 PRX-R11Pennsylvania Derby3n/a
TBDYoshida (JPN)TBDMott, W8/31/19 SAR-R11Woodward3n/a

The following “Win and You’re In” race winners are not expected to compete in Breeders’ Cup Classic:

  • Inti (winner of February Stakes)
  • Maximum Security (winner of Haskell Invitational)
  • Japan (winner of Juddmonte International Stakes)

Recent Breeders’ Cup Classic Betting News

Breeders’ Cup Classic History

While the Kentucky Derby is the more well-known race, the Breeders’ Cup Classic is considered to be the premier U.S. Thoroughbred horse race. The Breeders’ Cup Classic is part of a larger Breeders’ Cup World Championships event and has been run every year since its 1984 inception.

Since the Classic has high-quality competition, the race winner typically becomes the frontrunner for Horse of the Year honors. This trend is exactly what happened for a four-year stretch from 2004 to 2007, as Champions hoses like Ghostzapper, Saint Liam, Invasor, and Curlin won the Breeders’ Cup Classic and were then honored as Horse of the Year.

Most horse racing enthusiasts know that the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes make up the U.S. Triple Crown, which has been achieved 12 times, but the Classic is now considered the fourth leg of the series and makes up the U.S. horse racing Grand Slam. American Pharoah became the first Grand Slam winner in 2015.

The first ever running of the Breeders’ Cup Classic in 1984 was won by Wild Again. Find more details of his win and every other Classic race below.

Breeders’ Cup Classic – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the Breeders’ Cup Classic:

Speed record

Ghostzapper (2004 @ Lone Star Park)

Most Wins by a Jockey

2-way tie: Chris McCarron (1988, 1989, 1996, 2000, 2001) and Jerry Bailey (1991, 1993, 1994, 1995, 2005)

Most Wins by a Thoroughbred

Tiznow (2000, 2001)

Most Wins by a Trainer

Bob Baffert (2014, 2015, 2016)

Most Wins by an Owner

Stronach Stables (1998, 2004)

Historical Results for Breeders’ Cup Classic

In the table below, view a historical record of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Breeders’ Cup Classic race.

2018Accelerate5Joel RosarioJohn W. SadlerHronis Racing LLC 2:02.93Churchill Downs
2017Gun Runner4Florent GerouxSteve AsmussenWinchell Thoroughbreds & Three Chimneys Farm2:01.29 Del Mar
2016Arrogate3Mike E. SmithBob BaffertJuddmonte Farms2:00.11Santa Anita
2015American Pharoah3Victor EspinozaBob BaffertZayat Stables2:00.07Keeneland
2014Bayern3Martin GarciaBob BaffertKaleem Shah, Inc.1:59.88Santa Anita
2013Mucho Macho Man5Gary StevensKatherine RitvoReeves Thoroughbred Racing2:00.72Santa Anita
2012Fort Larned4Brian Hernandez JrIan WilkesJanis R. Whitham2:00.11Santa Anita
2011Drosselmeyer4M. SmithW. MottWinStar Farm LLC2:04.27Churchill Downs
2010Blame4G. GomezA. StallClaiborne Farm and Adele B. Dilschneider2:02.28Churchill Downs
2009Zenyatta5M. SmithJ. ShirreffsMr. and Mrs. Jerome S. Moss2:00.32Santa Anita
2008Raven's Pass3L. DettoriJ. GosdenH.R.H. Princess Haya of Jordan and Darley Stable1:59.27Santa Anita
2007Curlin3R. AlbaradoS. AsmussenStonestreet Stables et al.2:00.59Monmouth Park
2006Invasor (ARG)4F. JaraK. McLaughlinShadwell Stable2:02.18Churchill Downs
2005Saint Liam5J. BaileyR. Dutrow Jr.Mr. & Mrs. William K. Warren Jr.2:01.49Belmont Park
2004Ghostzapper4J. CastellanoR. FrankelStronach Stables (Frank Stronach)1:59.02Lone Star Park
2003Pleasantly Perfect5A. SolisR. MandellaDiamond A Racing Corp.1:59.88Santa Anita
2002Volponi4J. SantosP. JohnsonAmherst Stable & Spruce Pond Stable2:01.39Arlington Park
2001Tiznow4C. McCarronJ. RobbinsCee's Stables2:00.62Belmont Park
2000Tiznow3C. McCarronJ. RobbinsMichael Cooper & Cecilia Straub-Rubens2:00.75Churchill Downs
1999Cat Thief3P. DayD. LukasOverbrook Farm (William T. Young)1:59.52Gulfstream Park
1998Awesome Again (CAN)4P. ByrneP. ByrneStronach Stables (Frank Stronach)2:02.16Churchill Downs
1997Skip Away4M. SmithH. HineCarolyn H. Hine1:59.16Hollywood Park
1996Alphabet Soup5C. McCarronD. HofmansRidder Thoroughbred Stable2:01.00Woodbine
1995Cigar5J. BaileyW. MottAllen E. Paulson1:59.58Belmont Park
1994Concern3J. BaileyR. SmallRobert E. Meyerhoff2:02.41Churchill Downs
1993Arcangues5J. BaileyA. FabreDaniel Wildenstein2:00.83Santa Anita
1992A. P. Indy3E. DelahoussayeN. DrysdaleT. Tsurumaki, W. Farish, W. Kilroy, H. Goodman2:00.20Gulfstream Park
1991Black Tie Affair (IRE)5J. BaileyE. PoulosJeffrey S. Sullivan2:02.95Churchill Downs
1990Unbridled3P. DayC. NafzgerFrances A. Genter2:02.20Belmont Park
1989Sunday Silence3C. McCarronC. WhittinghamA. B. Hancock III, E. Gaillard & C. Whittingham2:00.20Gulfstream Park
1988Alysheba4C. McCarronJ. Van BergDorothy & Pamela Scharbauer2:04.80Churchill Downs
1987Ferdinand4W. ShoemakerC. WhittinghamMrs. Elizabeth A. Keck2:01.40Hollywood Park
1986Skywalker4L. Pincay Jr.M. WhittinghamOak Cliff Stable2:00.40Santa Anita
1985Proud Truth3J. VelasquezV. VeitchDarby Dan Farm2:00.80Aqueduct
1984Wild Again4P. DayV. TimphonyBlack Chip Stable2:03.40Hollywood Park