Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile

  • 2019 Location: Santa Anita Park
  • Inaugural Race: 2007
  • Distance: 1 mile (8 Furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds and up
  • 2019 Purse: $1.0 million
  • 2019 Race Date: Saturday, November 2rd

2019 Breeders Cup Championship - BetAmerica

2019 Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile – Who’s In?

Below are the official entries and morning line odds for the 2019 Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile:

PositionHorse NameOddsJockeyTrainerChallenge Series Wins
TBDMitoleTBDRicardo Santana Jr.Steven M. AsmussenMetropolitan Handicap
TBDCatalina CruiserTBDFlavien PratJohn SadlerPat O'Brien Stakes

Recent Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile Betting News

October 8th, 2017

Dirt Mile Race History

The Breeders’ Cup began in 1984 as a single-day event, but expanded to a two-day event in 2007. The Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile came into existence in 2007, and was part of the World Championships’ first day of expansion. The first two Dirt Mile races were not graded, but the American Graded Stakes Committee upgraded the race to grade-one status in 2009.

The Dirt Mile is a one-mile (or eight-furlong) race, usually run on a dirt surface, left-handed for three-year-olds and up and features a purse of $1 million. Since inception, the Dirt Mile has been won by horses aged 3, 4, 5, and 6. As part of the Breeders’ Cup Challenge “Win and You’re In” prep race qualifying circuit, the Dirt Mile division awards up to three automatic berths each year.

The first ever running of the Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile in 2007 was won by the four-year-old Corinthian.

Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile:

Speed record

Albertus Maximus (2008)

Most Wins by a Jockey

Rafael Bejarano (2013, 2014)

Most Wins by a Trainer

Jerry Hollendorfer (2010, 2017)

Most Wins by an Owner

W.C. Racing (2013, 2014)

Historical Results for Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile

In the table below, view a historical record of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Breeders’ Cup Dirt Milerace.

2018City of LightJavier CastellanoMichael McCarthyMr. & Mrs. William K Warren Jr.1:33.83
2017Battle Of MidwayFlavien PratJerry HollendorferDon Alberto Stable and WinStar Farm LLC1:35.20
2016TamarkuzMike E. SmithKiaran McLaughlinShadwell Stables1:35.72
2015Liam's MapJavier CastellanoTodd PletcherTeresa Viola Racing Stables1:34:54
2014GoldencentsRafael BejaranoLeandro MoraW. C. Racing1:35.19
2013GoldencentsRafael BejaranoDoug O'NeillW. C. Racing, Kenney, Dave and RAP Racing1:35:12
2012TapizarCorey NakataniSteven AsmussenWinchell Thoroughbreds LLC1:35.34
2011Caleb's PosseR. MaraghD. Von HemelMcNeil Stables, LLC and Cheyenne Stables, LLC1:35:59
2010Dakota PhoneJ. RosarioJ. HollendorferJohn Carver, Halo Farms, George Todaro and Jerry Hollendorfer1:35.29
2009Furthest LandJ. LeparouxM. MakerKenneth L. and Sarah K Ramsey1:35:50
2008Albertus MaximusG. GomezV. CerinBrandon L. and Marianne Chase1:33.41
2007CorinthianK. DesormeauxJ. JerkensCentennial Farms1:39:06