Breeders’ Cup Longines Distaff

  • 2018 Location: Churchill Downs
  • Inaugural Race: 1984
  • Distance: 1 1/8 mile
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds and up – Fillies and Mares
  • 2018 Purse: $2.0 million
  • 2018 Race Date: Saturday, November 3rd

Breeders' Cup 2017 at Del Mar Thoroughbred Club

2018 Breeders’ Cup Distaff – Challenge Series Winners

Find out who’s in so far for the 2018 Breeders’ Cup Distaff:

Sinfonía FantásticaRoberto PellegattaJuan Carlos NoriegaGran Premio Criadores
Abel TasmanBob BaffertMike E. SmithOgden Phipps Handicap & Personal Ensign Stakes
Blue PrizeIgnacio CorreasJose OrtizFleur de Lis Handicap
Unique BellaJerry HollendorferMike E. SmithClement L. Hirsch Stakes
TBDTBDTBDZenyatta Stakes
TBDTBDTBDSpinster Stakes

Recent Breeders’ Cup Distaff News

September 13th, 2017

Breeders’ Cup Distaff History

The Breeders’ Cup Distaff, for fillies and mares at three-years of age and older, is a part of the Breeders’ Cup World Championships and was included in the very first Breeders’ Cup card in 1984. It has been held every year since. From 2008 to 2012, the race was known as the Breeders’ Cup Ladies Classic, but reverted to the Distaff in 2013. In 2008, the Distaff became the closing anchor race for day one of the two-day Breeders’ event. The current length of the race is 1 1/8 miles; prior to that it was contested at 1/4 miles.

The Breeders’ Cup Distaff division awards up to seven automatic berths as part of “The Breeders’ Cup Challenge” series.

The first ever running of the Breeders’ Cup Distaff in 1984 was won by Princess Rooney. Princess Rooney also became the first ever Breeders’ Cup champion to be inducted into the Hall of Fame (United States Racing Hall of Fame – 1991). Below you can view more details of Princess Rooney’s 1984 Distaff win and highlights from other years.

Breeders’ Cup Distaff – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the Breeders’ Cup Distaff:

Speed record

Inside Information (1995)

Most Wins by a Jockey

Mike Smith (1995, 1997, 2002, 2008, 2012)

Most Wins by a Thoroughbred

3-way tie: Bayakoa (1989, 1990), Royal Delta (2011, 2012), and Beholder (2013, 2016)

Most Wins by a Trainer

Bill Mott (1997, 1998, 2010, 2011, 2012)

Most Wins by an Owner

Allen Paulson (1997, 1998, 2002)

Historical Results for Breeders’ Cup Distaff

In the table below, view a historical record of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Breeders’ Cup Distaff race.

2017Forever Unbridled5John VelazquezDallas StewartCharles E. Fipke1:50.25
2016 Beholder6Gary StevensRichard MandellaSpendthrift Farm1:49.22
2015Stopchargingmaria4Javier CastellanoTodd PletcherTown and Country Farms1:48.98
2014Untapable3Rosie NapravnikSteven AsmussenWinchell Thoroughbreds LLC1:48.68
2013Beholder3Gary StevensRichard MandellaSpendthrift Farm LLC1:47.77
2012Royal Delta4M. SmithW. MottBesilu Stables1:48.80
2011Royal Delta3J. LezcanoW. MottPalides Investments N.V., Inc1:50.78
2010Unrivaled Belle4K. DesormeauxW. MottGary Seidler and Peter Vegso1:50.04
2009Life Is Sweet4G. GomezJ. ShirreffsMr. & Mrs. Martin J. Wygod1:48.58
2008Zenyatta4M. SmithJ. ShirreffsMr. and Mrs. Jerome S. Moss1:46.85
2007Ginger Punch4R. BejaranoR. FrankelStronach Stables (Frank Stronach)1:50.11
2006Round Pond4E. PradoM. MatzFox Hill Farm1:50.50
2005Pleasant Home4C. VelasquezC. McGaughey IIIPhipps Stable1:48.34
2004Ashado3J. VelazquezT. PletcherStarlight Stables, P. Saylor & J. Martin1:48.26
2003Adoration4P. ValenzuelaD. HofmansAmerman Racing (John & Jerry Amerman)1:49.17
2002Azeri4M. SmithL. De SerouxAllen E. Paulson Living Trust1:48.64
2001Unbridled Elaine3P. DayD. StewartRoger J. Devenport1:49.21
2000Spain3V. EspinozaD. LukasThe Thoroughbred Corporation (Ahmed bin Salman)1:47.66
1999Beautiful Pleasure4J. ChavezJ. Ward Jr.John C. Oxley1:47.56
1998Escena5G. StevensW. MottAllen E. Paulson1:49.89
1997Ajina3M. SmithW. MottAllen E. Paulson1:47.20
1996Jewel Princess4C. NakataniW. DollaseThe Thoroughbred Corp. & Mr. & Mrs. R. Stephen1:48.40
1995Inside Information4M. SmithC. McGaughey IIIOgden Mills Phipps1:46.15
1994One Dreamer6G. StevensT. ProctorGlen Hill Farm (Leonard Lavin)1:50.79
1993Hollywood Wildcat3E. DelahoussayeN. DrysdaleMarjorie & Irving Cowan1:48.35
1992Paseana (ARG)5C. McCarronR. McAnallySidney H. Craig 1:48.17
1991Dance Smartly3P. DayJ. DaySam-Son Farm1:50.95
1990Bayakoa (ARG)6L. Pincay Jr.R. McAnallyMr. & Mrs. Frank E. Whitham1:49.20
1989Bayakoa (ARG)5L. Pincay Jr.R. McAnallyMr. & Mrs. Frank E. Whitham1:47.40
1988Personal Ensign4R. RomeroC. McGaughey IIIOgden Phipps1:52.00
1987Sacahuista3R. RomeroD. LukasB. A. Beal & L. R. French Jr.2:02.80†
1986Lady's Secret4P. DayD. LukasMr. & Mrs. Eugene V. Klein2:01.20†
1985Life's Magic4A. Cordero Jr.D. LukasMel Hatley & Eugene Klein2:02.00†
1984Princess Rooney4E. DelahoussayeN. DrysdalePaula Tucker2:02.40†
† – 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987 races were run at 1 1⁄4 miles