Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint

  • 2019 Location: Santa Anita Park
  • Inaugural Race: 2007
  • Distance: 7 Furlongs
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Fillies & Mares, Three-year-olds and up
  • 2019 Purse: $1.0 million
  • 2019 Race Date: Saturday, November 2rd

2019 Breeders Cup Championship - BetAmerica

2019 Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint – Who’s In?

Below are the official entries and morning line odds for the 2019 Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint:

PositionHorse NameOddsJockeyTrainerChallenge Series Wins
TBDStormy EmbraceTBDWilmer A. GarciaKathleen O'ConnellPrincess Rooney Handicap
TBDTBDTBDTBDTBDThoroughbred Club of America Stakes

Recent Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint Betting News

November 2nd, 2017

Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint History

The Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint was first added to the Breeders’ Cup card in 2007. It was run at six furlongs that year at Monmouth Park, but has been run at seven furlongs every year since.

It became a grade one race for its third edition in 2009, and has quickly become the climax of the year for the division. Only twice has the Filly & Mare Sprint victor failed to win the Eclipse Award, and in both cases the Eclipse Award winner finished second in the Filly & Mare Sprint.

The race has had one double winner already. Groupie Doll won the 2012 race in outstanding fashion, scoring by 4 ½ lengths. It was her fifth successive win and at her next start she took on the colts in the Cigar Mile, going down by a nose to Stay Thirsty. She returned the next year to defeat Judy the Beauty by a half-length.

Judy The Beauty got her turn to take the honors the following year. She is one of several horses to finish in the money in the Filly & Mare Sprint on multiple occasions. Ventura won the race in 2008 before finishing second the following year, a pattern repeated by Wavell Avenue in 2015 and 2016. The unfortunate Switch finished second in 2010 and 2011 and then third in 2012 but was unable to break through for a win.

Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the Breeders’ Cup Filly and Mare Sprint:

Speed record

Ventura (2008)

Most Wins by a Jockey

Tie: Mike Smith (2014 & 2016) and Rajiv Maragh (2012 & 2013)

Most Wins by a Thoroughbred

Groupie Doll (2012 & 2013)

Most Wins by a Trainer

William Bradley (2012 & 2013)

Most Wins by an Owner

Bradley F & W/Hurst/Brent (2012 & 2013)

Historical Results for Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint

In the table below, view a historical record of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint race.

20183Shamrock RoseIrad Ortiz Jr.Mark E. CasseConrad Farms1:23.13
20175Bar of GoldIrad Ortiz Jr.John C. KimmelChester & Mary Broman1:22.63
20164Finest CityMike SmithIan KruljacSeltzer Thoroughbreds1:22.37
20154Wavell AvenueJoel RosarioChad BrownMichael Dubb, David Simon and Bethlehem Stables LLC1:22.39
20145Judy the BeautyMike SmithWesley WardWesley Ward1:21:92
20135Groupie DollRajiv MaraghWilliam BradleyBradley, Fred F., William B., Hurst, Carl and Burns, Brent1:20.75
20124Groupie DollR. MaraghW. BradleyFred F. Bradley, William B. Bradley, Carl Hurst and Brent Burns1:20.72
20114Musical RomanceJ. LeyvaW. KaplanPinnacle Racing Stable and William A. Kaplan1:23.47
20105Dubai MajestyJ. TheriotW. CalhounMartin Racing Stable LLC and Dan Morgan1:22.33
20094Informed DecisionJ. LeparouxJ. SheppardAugustin Stables (George Strawbridge Jr. )1:21.66
20084VenturaG. GomezR. FrankelJuddmonte Farms (Khalid Abdullah)1:19.90
20076MaryfieldE. TrujilloD. O'NeillMark Gorman, Nick Mestrandrea & Jim Perry1:09.85*
* – 2007 race run at 6 furlongs