Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf

  • 2018 Location: Churchill Downs
  • Inaugural Race: 1999
  • Distance: 11 Furlongs
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Turf
  • Age Qualifications: Fillies & Mares, Three-year-olds and up
  • 2018 Purse: $2.0 million
  • 2018 Race Date: Saturday, November 3rd

Breeders' Cup 2017 at Del Mar Thoroughbred Club

2018 Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint – Challenge Series Winners

Find out who’s in so far for the 2018 Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Sprint:

Oh SusannaJustin SnaithGrant Van NiekerkPaddock Stakes
AlizeeJames CummingsGlyn SchofieldQueen of the Turf Stakes
Smart ChoiceJuan SuarezMartin ChuanGran Premio Pamplona
SistercharlieChad BrownJohn R. VelazquezBeverly D. Stakes
Sea of ClassWilliam HaggasJames DoyleSunderland Holding Inc.
TBDTBDTBDMatron Stakes
TBDTBDTBDRodeo Drive Stakes
TBDTBDTBDPrix de l'Opéra
TBDTBDTBDFirst Lady Stakes
TBDTBDTBDFlower Bowl Invitational Stakes

Recent Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf News

October 17th, 2017

Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf History

The Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf was the first expansion race added to the original seven Breeders’ Cup races. First run in 1999, it is one of the premier grass races in the world for fillies and mares. The distance can vary depending on the layout of the track; it’s normally 1 ¼ miles, but it has been run once at 1 3/16 miles, once at 1  1/8 miles and in 2018 at Churchill Downs it’s going to be run at 1 3/8 miles for the 8th time.

As with many of the turf races at the Breeders’ Cup, European horses are regularly among the favorites for the Filly & Mare Turf. They have won seven of the 18 races, and among them is the only two-time winner, the Ed Dunlop-trained Ouija Board.

Perhaps the greatest winner of the race, Ouija Board won in 2004, finished second in 2005, and won again in 2006. She was not only Champion Turf Female in 2004 and 2006, her record in Europe and around the world on top of those victories meant she was also European Horse of the Year in those two years.

Other outstanding mares to win the race include Soaring Softly, Intercontinental, Midday, and Zagora.

More often than not, the winner of the Filly & Mare Turf wins the Eclipse Award for Champion Turf Female; the double has been completed 12 years out of 18. Four of the Eclipse Awards in the other six years went to mares that excelled over the shorter distance of a mile: Goldikova and Tepin.

Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the Breeders’ Cup Filly and Mare Turf:

Speed record

1:58.73 for 1 14 miles (Dank in 2013) & 2:13.07 for 1 38 miles (Perfect Sting in 2000)

Most Wins by a Jockey

2 Tie:Jerry Bailey (1999, 2000), Kieren Fallon (2003, 2004), John Velazquez (2002, 2011), Javier Castellano (2012, 2014), & Frankie Dettori (2006, 2016)

Most Wins by a Thoroughbred

Ouija Board (2004, 2006)

Most Wins by a Trainer

Tie: Chad Brown (2012, 2014, 2015), Michael Stoute (2003, 2013, 2016)

Most Wins by an Owner

Juddmonte Farms (2001, 2005, 2009)

Historical Results for Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf

In the table below, view a historical record of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf race.

2017Wuheida4William T. BuickCharlie ApplebyGodolphin Racing01:47.911 1/8
2016Queen's Trust (GB)3Frankie DettoriMichael StouteCheveley Park Stud01:57.8 1 1⁄4
2015Stephanie's Kitten6Irad OrtizChad BrownKenneth and Sarah Ramsey01:56.2 1 3⁄16
2014Dayatthespa5Javier CastellanoChad BrownJerry Frankel et al.02:01.4 1 1⁄4
2013Dank4Ryan MooreMichael StouteJames Wigan01:58.7 1 1⁄4
2012Zagora4Javier CastellanoChad BrownMartin S. Schwartz01:59.7 1 1⁄4
2011Perfect Shirl4John VelazquezRoger AttfieldCharles E. Fipke02:18.6 1 3⁄8
2010Shared Account4Edgar PradoGraham MotionSagamore Farm02:17.7 1 3⁄8
2009Midday3Tom QueallyHenry CecilJuddmonte Farms01:59.1 1 1⁄4
2008Forever Together4Julien LeparouxJonathan SheppardAugustin Stable02:01.6 1 1⁄4
2007Lahudood4Alan GarciaKiaran McLaughlinShadwell Racing02:22.8 1 3⁄8
2006Ouija Board5Frankie DettoriEd DunlopLord Derby02:14.6 1 3⁄8
2005Intercontinental5Rafael BejaranoRobert J. FrankelJuddmonte Farms02:02.3 1 1⁄4
2004Ouija Board3Kieren FallonEd DunlopLord Derby02:18.3 1 3⁄8
2003Islington4Kieren FallonSir Michael StouteBallymacoll Stud01:59.1 1 1⁄4
2002Starine5John VelazquezRobert J. FrankelRobert J. Frankel02:03.6 1 1⁄4
2001Banks Hill3Olivier PeslierAndre FabreJuddmonte Farms02:00.4 1 1⁄4
2000Perfect Sting4Jerry BaileyJoe OrsenoStronach Stables02:13.1 1 3⁄8
1999Soaring Softly4Jerry BaileyJames J. TonerPhillips Racing Partnership02:13.9 1 3⁄8