Breeders’ Cup 14 Hands Winery Juvenile Fillies

  • 2017 Location: Del Mar Thoroughbred Club
  • Inaugural Race: 1984
  • Distance: 1 1/16 mile
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Two-year-old fillies
  • 2017 Purse: $2.0 million
  • 2017 Race Date: Saturday, November 4th
Breeders' Cup 2017 at Del Mar Thoroughbred Club

2017 14 Hands Winery Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies Results

1Caledonia Road$36.60$15.40$9.80
2Alluring Star$10.40$7.20
3Blonde Bomber$15.20
5Piedi Bianchi
6Wonder Gadot
7Moonshine Memories
8Princess Warrior
9Gio Game
11Heavenly Lover
12Maya Malibu
13Tell Your Mama
  • Exacta Payout: $196.90 (12-9)
  • Trifecta Payout: $2,289.95 (12-9-5)
  • Superfecta Payout: $29,371.00 (12-9-5-13)
  • Daily Double Payout: $627.00 (9-12)
  • Pick 3 Payout: $790.50 (6-9-12)

2017 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies Odds & Entries

Here are the official entries, morning line odds, and post positions for the 2017 Breeders’ Cup 14 Hands Winery Juvenile Fillies:

1Heavenly LoveMark E. CasseJulien Leparoux9-2
2Tell Your MamaRobert B. Hess Jr.Kent Desormeaux30-1
3Princess WarriorKenneth G. McPeekBrian Hernandez Jr.12-1
4Gio GameMark E. CasseManuel Franco15-1
5Blonde BomberStanley GoldJose Lezcano20-1
6StainlessTodd A. PletcherJohn Velazquez20-1
7Moonshine MemoriesSimon CallaghanFlavien Prat7-2
8Piedi BianchiDoug F. O'NeillMario Gutierrez15-1
9Alluring StarBob BaffertJoe Talamo6-1
10Maya MalibuH. Graham MotionJavier Castellano20-1
11Wonder GadotMark E. CassePatrick Husbands8-1
12Caledonia RoadRalph E. NicksMike Smith15-1
13SeparationofpowersChad C. BrownJose Ortiz4-1

Open look about Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies

Successive G1 victories in California have made Moonshine Memories a favorite for this year’s Juvenile Fillies, but it’s still a race where the form lines aren’t easy to establish. Read the full post here.

By Alastair Bull | November 2nd, 2017

Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies Race History

First run on the inaugural Breeders’ Cup race day in 1984, the 14 Hands Winery Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies is the culmination of the season for 2-year-old females.

The Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies has arguably been more important than any of the Breeders’ Cup races to deciding seasonal honors. Of the 33 winners of the race, 29 have won the Eclipse Award for Champion 2-Year-Old Filly.

Of the four Eclipse Award winners that didn’t win the Juvenile Fillies, one (She’s A Tiger in 2013) was first past the post in the Juvenile Fillies, but was disqualified and placed second behind Ria Antonia. Among the other three, Chilukki (1999) and Family Style (1985) both finished second in the Juvenile Fillies, and Golden Attraction (1985) finished third.

Some outstanding fillies have won the race. Meadow Star rounded off an undefeated 1990 when winning by five lengths, and seven years later Countess Diana won by 8 ½ lengths, earning an Experimental Free Handicap rating of 125 pounds, the highest since 1946. Songbird (2015) received the same rating.

Two winners – Open Mind (1988) and Silverbulletday (1998) went on to win the Kentucky Oaks the next year. Both went on to become Champion 3-Year-Old filly, along with Songbird, Go For Wand (1989), and Beholder (2012). Beholder went on to win the Breeders’ Cup Distaff twice.

Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies:

Speed record

Stardom Bound (2008)

Most Wins by a Jockey

Tie: Pat Valenzuela, Pat Day, Jerry Bailey, Pat Valenzuela, Corey Nakatani, Garrett K. Gomez, & Mike Smith

Most Wins by a Trainer

D. Wayne Lukas (1985, 1988, 1994, 1999, 2005, 2014)

Most Wins by an Owner

Eugene V. Klein (1985, 1988)

Historical Results for Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies

In the table below, view a historical record of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies race.

2016Champagne RoomMario GutierrezPeter EurtonCiaglia Racing1:45.12
2015SongbirdMike SmithJerry HollendorferFox Hill Farms1.42.73
2014Take Charge BrandiVictor EspinozaD. Wayne LukasCharming Syndicate1:41.95
2013# Ria AntoniaJavier CastellanoJeremiah C. EnglehartDunn/Looch Racing Stable1:43.02
2012BeholderGarrett K. GomezRichard E. MandellaSpendthrift Farm1:43.61
2011My Miss AureliaCorey NakataniSteve AsmussenStonestreet Stables/Bolton1:46.00
2010Awesome FeatherJeffrey SanchezStanley I. GoldJacks or Better Farm, Inc.1:45.17
2009She Be WildJulien LeparouxWayne CatalanoNancy Mazzoni1:43.80
2008Stardom BoundMike SmithChristopher PaaschCharles Cono LLC1:40.99
2007Indian BlessingGarrett GomezBob BaffertHal J. Earnhardt III1:44.73
2006Dreaming of AnnaRene DouglasWayne CatalanoFrank C. Calabrese1:43.81
2005FolkloreEdgar PradoD. Wayne LukasBob & Beverly Lewis1:43.85
2004Sweet CatomineCorey NakataniJulio CananiPam & Martin Wygod1:41.65
2003HalfbridledJulie KroneRichard MandellaWertheimer Farm1:42.75
2002Storm Flag FlyingJohn VelazquezC. R. McGaughey IIIOgden Mills Phipps1:49.60 **
2001TemperaDavid FloresEoin G. HartyGodolphin Racing1:41.49
2000CaressingJohn VelazquezDavid VanceCarl F. Pollard1:42.60
1999Cash RunJerry BaileyD. Wayne LukasPadua Stable1:43.20
1998SilverbulletdayGary StevensBob BaffertMichael E. Pegram1:43.60
1997Countess DianaShane SellersPatrick B. ByrnePropson, Kaster et al.1:42.20
1996Storm SongCraig PerretNick ZitoDogwood Stable1:43.60
1995My FlagJerry BaileyC. R. McGaughey IIIOgden Phipps1:42.40
1994FlandersPat DayD. Wayne LukasOverbrook Farm1:45.20
1993Phone ChatterLaffit Pincay, Jr.Richard MandellaHerman Sarkowsky1:43.00
1992ElizaPat ValenzuelaAlex L. Hassinger, Jr.Allen E. Paulson1:42.80
1991Pleasant StageEd DelahoussayeChris SpeckertBuckland Farm1:46.40
1990Meadow StarJose SantosLeRoy JolleyCarl Icahn1:44.00
1989Go For WandRandy RomeroWilliam Badgett, Jr.Christiana Stables1:44.20
1988Open MindAngel Cordero, Jr.D. Wayne LukasEugene V. Klein1:46.60
1987EpitomePat DayPhil HauswaldJohn A. Bell III1:36.40 *
1986Brave RajPat ValenzuelaMelvin F. StuteDolly Green1:43.20
1985Twilight RidgeJorge VelasquezD. Wayne LukasEugene V. Klein1:35.80 *
1984# OutstandinglyWalter GuerraPancho MartinHarbor View Farm1:37.80 *
* 1987, 1985, 1984 – raced at a distance of 1 mile
** 2002 – raced at a distance of  1 1⁄8 miles
# 1984, 2013 – won via DQ