Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf

  • 2018 Location: Churchill Downs
  • Inaugural Race: 2007
  • Distance: 1 mile (8 Furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Turf
  • Age Qualifications: Two-year-olds
  • 2018 Purse: $1.0 million
  • 2018 Race Date: Friday, November 2nd

Breeders' Cup 2017 at Del Mar Thoroughbred Club

2018 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf – Challenge Series Winners

Find out who’s in so far for the 2018 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf:

TBDTBDTBDJuvenile Stakes
TBDTBDTBDSummer Stakes
TBDTBDTBDRoyal Lodge Stakes
TBDTBDTBDBourbon Stakes
TBDTBDTBDPrix Jean-Luc Lagardere

Recent Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf News

November 1st, 2017

Juvenile Turf Race History

The Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf was part of the Breeders’ Cup World Championships’ 2007 expansion to a two-day event and lands among the first day race card. The Breeders’ Cup was originally a one day festival. The first two Juvenile Turf races were not graded, but the American Graded Stakes Committee upgraded it to grade-two status in 2009 and then further upgraded the race to grade-one status in 2011.

The Juvenile Turf is a one-mile (or eight-furlong) race, usually ran on a turf surface, left-handed for two-year-olds and features a purse of $1 million. The Juvenile Turf division awards up to five automatic berths each year as part of the Breeders’ Cup Challenge “Win and You’re In” prep race series.

The first ever running of the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf in 2007 was won by Nownownow.

Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf:

Speed record

Outstrip (2013)

Most Wins by a Jockey

Ryan Moore (2011, 2012, 2015, 2017)

Most Wins by a Trainer

Aidan O’Brien (2011, 2012, 2015, 2017)

Most Wins by an Owner

Team of John Magnier, Michael Tabor, and Derrick Smith (2011, 2012, 2014, 2017)

Historical Results for Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf

In the table below, view a historical record of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Turf race.

2017MendelssohnRyan MooreAidan O'BrienMagnier, Mrs. John, Tabor, Michael and Smith, Derrick1:35.97
2016Oscar PerformanceJose OrtizBrian A. LynchAmerman Racing Stables LLC1:33.28
2015Hit It a BombJoseph O'BrienAiden P O'BrienMrs E. M. Stockwell1:38.86
2014HootenannyLanfranco DettoriWesley WardMagnier, Mrs. John, Tabor, Michael and Smith, Derrick1:34.79
2013Outstrip (GB)Mike SmithCharles ApplebyGodolphin Racing, LLC Lessee1:33.20
2012George VancouverR. MooreA. O'BrienMrs. John Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith1:33.78
2011Wrote (IRE)R. MooreA. O'BrienMrs. John Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith1:37.41
2010PluckG. GomezT. PletcherTeam Valor International1:36.98
2009PouncedL. DettoriJ. GosdenLady Serena Rothschild1:35.47
2008Donativum (GB)L. DettoriJ. GosdenH.R.H. Princess Haya of Jordan and Darley Stable1:34.68
2007NownownowJ. LeparouxF. PariselFab Oak Stable1:40.48