Breeders’ Cup TVG Juvenile

  • 2019 Location: Santa Anita Park
  • Inaugural Race: 1984
  • Distance: 1 1/16 mile
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Two-year-old males
  • 2019 Purse: $2.0 million
  • 2019 Race Date: Friday, November 1st

2019 Breeders Cup Championship - BetAmerica

2019 Breeders’ Cup TVG Juvenile – Entries & Morning Line Odds

Below are the official entries, past race history, and morning line odds for the 2019 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile:

PositionHorseOddsTrainerLast Race (Date)Last Race (Name)FinishChallenge Series Wins
1Dennis' Moment8-5Romans, D9/14/19 CD-R10Iroquois Stakes1Iroquois Stakes
2Wrecking Crew20-1Miller, P9/2/19 DMR-R9Del Mar Futurity2n/a
3Shoplifted20-1Asmussen, S9/27/19 SA-R8American Pharoah S.5n/a
4Storm the Court20-1Eurton, P9/27/19 SA-R8American Pharoah S.3n/a
5Scabbard8-1Kenneally, E9/14/19 CD-R10Iriquois2n/a
6Eight Rings2-1Baffert, B9/27/19 SA-R8American Pharoah S.1American Pharoah Stakes
7Anneau d'Or15-1Wright, B9/29/2019 GGF-R8Maiden Special Weight1n/a
8Full Flat30-1Mori, H10/12/2019 KYO-R9Momiji Stakes5n/a
SCR (9)Maxfield3-1Walsh, B10/5/19 KEE-R9Breeders' Futurity1Breeders' Futurity

2019 Breeders’ Cup TVG Juvenile – Results

Below are the results of the 2019 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile:

4Storm the CourtFlavien PratPeter Eurton$93.80$24.80$12.00
7Anneau d'OrJuan J. HernandezBlaine D. Wright$17.60$10.40
2Wrecking CrewPaco LopezPeter Miller$12.20
5ScabbardMike E. SmithEddie Kenneally
8Full FlatYutaka TakeHideyuki Mori
6Eight RingsJohn R. VelazquezBob Baffert
3ShopliftedRicardo Santana, Jr.Steven M. Asmussen
1Dennis' MomentIrad Ortiz, Jr.Dale L. Romans

Exotic Payouts:

  • Exacta (4-7) Paid: $488
  • Trifecta (4-7-2) Paid: $1,965
  • Superfecta (4-7-2-5) Paid: $1,200

Recent Breeders’ Cup Juvenile News

Watch The 2019 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile

Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Race History

Raced every year since the inaugural Breeders’ Cup meeting in 1984, the Sentient Jet Breeders’ Cup Juvenile is the premier race for male 2-year-olds in North America.

The race is so important to juvenile racing that in its 33-year history, only eight winners did not go on to take the Eclipse Award for Champion 2-Year-Old Male. Five of those Eclipse Award winners didn’t contest the Juvenile for a variety of reasons, among them the future Triple Crown winner American Pharoah, who missed the race through injury.

Winners have, however, found it difficult to go on to win Triple Crown races the following year. Timber Country (1994) was the first, going on to win the Preakness Stakes the following year; the only others are Street Sense (2006) and Nyquist (2015), both of whom won the Kentucky Derby the year after.

Though the race has been dominated by North American horses, four European juveniles have succeeded: Vale of York, Wilko, Johannesburg, and Arazi.

Few moments in Breeders’ Cup history were more memorable than Arazi’s 1991 triumph. Racing on dirt for the first time, the French-trained colt settled second-last before beginning an amazing mid-race move in the back straight, blowing right by Bertrando on the final turn and winning under a hold by five lengths.

One of the most notable winners was Favorite Trick in 1997. His five-length victory not only secured him Champion 2-Year-Old Male, but he also became the first 2-year-old since Secretariat in 1972 to be named Horse of the Year. 2017 Winner Good Magic became the first horse to ever break his maiden at the Breeders’ Cup Championships.

Breeders’ Cup Juvenile – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile:

Speed record

Success Express (1987)

Most Wins by a Jockey

Tie: Laffit Pincay, Jr. (1985, 1986, 1988) & Jerry Bailey (1996, 1998, 2000)

Most Wins by a Trainer

D. Wayne Lukas (1986, 1987, 1988, 1994, 1996)

Most Wins by an Owner

Eugene V. Klein (1987, 1988), Overbrook Farm (with partners in 1994, 1996),Michael Tabor & Susan Magnier (2001, with partners in 2012) & Gary and Mary West (2013, 2018)

Historical Results for Breeders’ Cup Juvenile

In the table below, view a historical record of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Breeders’ Cup Juvenile race.

2019Storm the CourtFlavien PratPeter EurtonExline-Border Racing LLC et al.1:44.93
2018Game WinnerJoel RosarioBob BaffertGary and Mary West1:43.67
2017Good MagicJose L. OrtizChad C. Browne Five Racing / Stonestreet Stables01:43.34
2016Classic EmpireJulien LeparouxMark CasseJohn C. Oxley01:42.6
2015NyquistMario GutierrezDoug O'NeillReddam Racing01:43.8
2014Texas RedKent DesormeauxKeith DesormeauxErich Brehm, Wayne Detmar et al.01:41.9
2013New Year's DayMartin GarciaBob BaffertGary and Mary West01:43.5
2012Shanghai BobbyRosie NapravnikTodd PletcherStarlight Racing/Magnier/Tabor/Smith01:44.6
2011HansenRamon DominguezMichael MakerKendall Hansen, MD/Sky Chai Racing01:44.4
2010Uncle MoJohn VelazquezTodd PletcherRepole Stable01:42.6
2009Vale of YorkAhmed AjtebiSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing01:43.5
2008MidshipmanGarrett GomezBob BaffertDarley Stable01:40.9
2007War PassCornelio VelasquezNick ZitoRobert V. LaPenta01:42.8
2006Street SenseCalvin BorelCarl NafzgerJames B. Tafel01:42.6
2005Stevie WonderboyGarrett GomezDoug O'NeillMerv Griffin Ranch Company01:41.6
2004WilkoFrankie DettoriJeremy NosedaJ. Paul Reddam01:42.1
2003Action This DayDavid R. FloresRichard MandellaB. Wayne Hughes01:43.6
2002VindicationMike E. SmithBob BaffertPadua Stables01:49.6
2001JohannesburgMichael KinaneAidan O'BrienMichael Tabor & Susan Magnier01:42.3
2000Macho UnoJerry BaileyJoseph OrsenoStronach Stables01:42.1
1999AneesGary StevensAlex Hassinger, Jr.The Thoroughbred Corp.01:42.3
1998Answer LivelyJerry BaileyBobby C. BarnettJohn A. Franks01:44.0
1997Favorite TrickPat DayPatrick B. ByrneJoseph LaCombe Stable01:41.5
1996Boston HarborJerry BaileyD. Wayne LukasOverbrook Farm01:43.4
1995Unbridled's SongMike E. SmithJames T. RyersonParaneck Stable01:41.6
1994Timber CountryPat DayD. Wayne LukasOverbrook/Gainsway/Lewis01:44.6
1993BroccoGary StevensRandy WinickAlbert R. Broccoli01:43.0
1992Gilded TimeChris McCarronDarrell ViennaMilch, Silverman & Silverman01:43.4
1991AraziPat ValenzuelaFrancois BoutinAllen E. Paulson01:44.8
1990Fly So FreeJose SantosScotty SchulhoferTommy Valando01:43.4
1989RhythmCraig PerretC. R. McGaughey IIIOgden Mills Phipps01:43.6
1988Is It TrueLaffit Pincay, Jr.D. Wayne LukasEugene V. Klein01:46.6
1987Success ExpressD. Wayne LukasEugene V. Klein1:35.20*
1986CapoteLaffit Pincay, Jr.D. Wayne LukasBeal, French Jr. & E. V. Klein01:43.8
1985TassoLaffit Pincay, Jr.Neil DrysdaleGerald Robins1:36.20*
1984Chief's CrownDon MacBethRoger LaurinStar Crown Stable1:36.20*
*1984, 1985, 1987 were run at 1 mile, current distance is  1 1⁄16 miles