Breeders’ Cup Mile

  • 2018 Location: Churchill Downs
  • Inaugural Race: 1984
  • Distance: 1 mile (8 Furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Turf
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds and up
  • 2018 Purse: $2.0 million
  • 2018 Race Date: Saturday, November 3rd

Breeders' Cup 2018 at Churchill Downs

2018 Breeders’ Cup Mile – Who’s In?

Below are the official entries and morning line odds for the 2018 Breeders’ Cup Mile:

PositionHorse NameOddsJockeyTrainerChallenge Series Wins
1One Master (GB)12-1James DoyleWilliam J. Haggasn/a
2Next Shares10-1Tyler GaffalioneRichard BaltasShadwell Turf Mile
3Happily (IRE)15-1Wayne LordanAidan O'Brienn/a
4Polydream (IRE)SCRATCHEDMaxime GuyonF. Headn/a
5Oscar Performance6-1Jose OrtizBrian LynchWoodbine Mile
6Almanaar (GB)12-1Joel RosarioChad Brownn/a
7Expert Eye (GB)8-1Lafranco DettoriMr Stouten/a
8I Can Fly (GB)10-1Jamie SpencerAidan O'Brienn/a
9Hunt (IRE)SCRATCHEDFlavien PratPhilip D'AmatoShoemaker Mile Stakes
10Catapult6-1Drayden Van DykeJohn Sadlern/a
11Lightning Spear (GB)20-1Oslin MurphyDmi SimcockWoodbine Mile
12Analyze It6-1Irad Ortiz Jr.Chad C Brownn/a
13Gustav Klimt (IRE)10-1Ryan MooreAidan O'Brienn/a
14Mustashry (GB)15-1William T. BuickSir Michael Stouten/a
15Divisidero30-1Jevian Toledo Kelly Rubleyn/a
16Clemmie (AE) (IRE)30-1Andrea AtzeniAidan O'Brienn/a

Recent Breeders’ Cup Mile Betting News

October 24th, 2017

Breeders’ Cup Mile Race History

One of the seven foundation races when the Breeders’ Cup began in 1984, the Breeders’ Cup Mile is always one of the best turf mile races in the world. It has successfully brought together the best turf milers from the United States and Europe, and usually provides dramatic racing.

Won in its first year by Royal Heroine, the Mile became truly international at its third running when the French-trained Last Tycoon won. France was triumphant again in the next two years with the wonderful filly Miesque, who became the first dual Breeders’ Cup winner. Another famous European triumph came in 1990, when legendary English jockey Lester Piggott won on Royal Academy after coming out of retirement 10 days beforehand.

Lure became the first American dual winner of the Mile in 1992 and 1993, and Da Hoss became the second with a remarkable double in 1996 and 1998. Da Hoss was kept out of racing for nearly two years after his 1996 triumph, racing in just an allowance race in October 1998 prior to his second Mile triumph.

The 21st century has seen two particularly outstanding winners. The French mare Goldikova won the Mile in 2008, 2009, and 2010, three of 14 career group/grade 1 victories. She is the only horse to win the same Breeders’ Cup race three times, and she finished third in 2011 going for a fourth victory.

The year after Goldikova’s final attempt at the Mile, the outstanding Wise Dan arrived. He beat Kentucky Derby winner Animal Kingdom in 2012, and came from off the pace to beat Za Approval the next year. In both years, he was named Horse of the Year.

Classy mare Tepin was a very good winner in 2015, and finished second to Tourist after a wide run the following year.

Breeders’ Cup Mile – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the Breeders’ Cup Mile:

Speed record

Tourist (2016)

Most Wins by a Thoroughbred

Goldikova (IRE) (2008, 2009, 2010)

Most Wins by a Jockey

Olivier Peslier (2008, 2009,2010)    John R. Velazquez (1998,2012,2017)

Most Wins by a Trainer

Freddy Head (2008, 2009, 2010)

Most Wins by an Owner

Flaxman Holdings / Niarchos Family (1987, 1988, 1997, 2002, 2003, 2014)

Historical Results for Breeders’ Cup Mile

In the table below, view a historical record of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Breeders’ Cup Mile race.

20175World ApprovalJohn R. VelazquezMark E. CasseLive Oak Plantation Racing1:34.55
20165TouristJoel RosarioBill MottWinstar Farm1:31.71
20154TepinJulien LeparouxMark CasseRobert Masterson1:36.69
20143Karakontie (JPN)Stephane PasquierJonathan PeaseFlaxman Holdings Ltd.1:32.88
20136Wise DanJose LezcanoCharles LoprestiMorton Fink1:32.47
20125Wise DanJ. VelazquezCharles LoprestiMorton Fink1:31.78
20116Court VisionR. AlbaradoD. RomansSpendthrift Farm LLC1:37:05
20105Goldikova (IRE)O. PeslierF. HeadWertheimer and Frere1:35.16
20094Goldikova (IRE)O. PeslierF. HeadWertheimer and Frere1:32.26
20083Goldikova (IRE)O. PeslierF. HeadWertheimer and Frere1:33.40
20074Kip DevilleC. VelasquezR. Dutrow Jr.IEAH Stables, et al.1:39.78
20067Miesque's ApprovalE. CastroM. WolfsonLive Oak Plantation1:34.75
20054Artie SchillerG. GomezJ. JerkensMrs. Thomas J. Walsh & Timber Bay Farm1:36.10
20044SingletaryD. FloresD. Chatlos Jr.Little Red Feather Racing1:36.90
20033Six Perfections (FR)J. BaileyP. BaryFlaxman Holdings Ltd.1:33.86
20024Domedriver (IRE)T. ThulliezP. BaryFlaxman Holdings Ltd.1:36.88
20015Val Royal (FR)J. Valdivia Jr.J. CananiDavid S. Milch1:32.05
20003War ChantG. StevensN. DrysdaleMarjorie & Irving Cowan1:34.60
19994Silic (FR)C. NakataniJ. CananiJ. T. Lanni, B. Schiappa, K. Poslosky et al1:34.20
19985Da HossJ. VelazquezM. DickinsonPrestonwood Farm & Wallstreet Stables1:35.20
19974Spinning WorldC. AsmussenJ. PeaseFlaxman Holdings Ltd.1:32.60
19964Da HossG. StevensM. DickinsonPrestonwood Farm & Wallstreet Stables1:35.80
19953Ridgewood Pearl (GB)J. MurtaghJ. OxxAnne Coughlan1:43.60
19944Barathea (IRE)L. DettoriL. CumaniSheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al Maktoum & G. Leigh1:34.40
19934LureM. SmithC. McGaughey IIIClaiborne Farm & Nicole Perry Gorman1:33.40
19923LureM. SmithC. McGaughey IIIClaiborne Farm & Nicole Perry Gorman1:32.80
19915Opening VerseP. ValenzuelaR. LundyAllen E. Paulson1:37.40
19903Royal AcademyL. PiggottM. O'BrienClassic Thoroughbreds PLC1:35.20
19896Steinlen (GB)J. SantosD. LukasWildenstein Stable1:37.20
19884MiesqueF. HeadF. BoutinFlaxman Holdings Ltd.1:38.60
19873MiesqueF. HeadF. BoutinFlaxman Holdings Ltd.1:32.80
19863Last Tycoon (IRE)Y. Saint-MartinR. ColletRichard C. Strauss1:35.20
19855CozzeneW. GuerraJ. NerudClover Racing Stables1:35:00
19844Royal Heroine (IRE)F. ToroJ. GosdenRobert E. Sangster1:32:60