Breeders’ Cup TwinSpires Sprint

  • 2019 Location: Santa Anita Park
  • Inaugural Race: 1984
  • Distance: 6 Furlongs
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds and up
  • 2019 Purse: $2 million
  • 2019 Race Date: Saturday, November 2rd

2019 Breeders Cup Championship - BetAmerica

2019 Breeders’ Cup Sprint – Entries & Morning Line Odds

Below are the official entries, past race history, and morning line odds for the 2019 Breeders’ Cup Sprint:

PositionHorseOddsTrainerLast Race (Date)Last Race (Name)FinishChallenge Series Wins
1Catalina Cruiser 4-1Sadler, J8/24/2019 DMR-R9Pat O'Brien S.1n/a
2Hog Creek Hustle20-1Foley, V10/4/19 KEE-R8Phoenix S5n/a
3Firenze Fire12-1Servis, J9/28/19 BEL-R4Vosburgh2n/a
4Mitole9-5Asmussen, S8/24/19 SAR-R5Forego1n/a
5Engage15-1Asmussen, S10/4/19 KEE-R8Phoenix1Phoenix Stakes
6Shancelot4-1Navarro, J10/5/19 SA-R9SA Sprint Championship2n/a
7Whimore15-1Moquett, R10/4/19 KEE-R8Phoenix s2n/a
8Landeskog12-1O'Neill, D9/21/19 PRX-R9Gallant Bob2n/a
9Imperial Hint4-1Carvajal Jr, L9/28/19 BEL-R4Vosburgh1Vosburgh Stakes
10Matera Sky30-1Mori, H9/8/19 HAN-R11Centaur S.7n/a

The following “Win and You’re In” race winners will not compete in the Breeders’ Cup Sprint:

  • Cistron (winner of Bing Crosby Handicap)

2019 Breeders’ Cup Sprint – Results

Below are the results of the 2019 Breeders’ Cup Sprint:

4MitoleRicardo Santana, Jr.Steven M. Asmussen$5.60$3.20$2.60
6ShancelotJose L. OrtizJorge Navarro$3.20$2.80
7WhitmoreFlavien PratRon Moquett$5.00
5EngageJohn R. VelazquezSteven M. Asmussen
3Firenze FireIrad Ortiz, Jr.Jason Servis
2Hog Creek HustleMike E. SmithVickie L. Foley
1Catalina CruiserJoel RosarioJohn W. Sadler
10Matera SkyYutaka TakeHideyuki Mori

Exotic Payouts:

  • Exacta (4-6) Paid: $8
  • Trifecta (4-6-7) Paid: $30
  • Superfecta (4-6-7-5) Paid: $40

Recent Breeders’ Cup Sprint Betting News

October 21st, 2017

Breeders’ Cup Sprint History

The Breeders’ Cup Sprint (formerly TwinSpires Breeders’ Cup Sprint) was one of the seven inaugural Breeders’ Cup races in 1984, and has been run at every Breeders’ Cup since. It has provided numerous exciting moments in its 33-year history.

Each year the race has gone a long way to deciding Eclipse Award for Champion Male Sprinter; 20 of the 33 Breeders’ Cup Sprint winners have gone on to win the Eclipse Award.

More than any other Breeders’ Cup race, the Sprint features many horses that contest it for several years. One of the most notable was Kona Gold, who contested the race five times. After finishing third in 1998 and second in 1999, it was finally his year in 2000 as he defeated Honest Lady and Bet on Sunshine in a record time. He finished out of the money the following two years.

Perhaps the most memorable edition was in 1990, when the US champion sprinting filly Safely Kept and the British star Dayjur fought all the way up the Belmont Park stretch. Dayjur looked set to win but jumped a shadow on the track near the finish, allowing Safely Kept to take the race. The British made up for the defeat the following year when Sheikh Albadou won, the only European victory to date.

The only dual winners of the race are Midnight Lute, who closed from well off to win the race in 2007 and 2008, and Roy H, who claimed victories in 2017 and 2018. Another exciting closer to win was Lit de Justice in 1996.

Breeders’ Cup Sprint – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the Breeders’ Cup Sprint:

Speed record

Midnight Lute (2008)

Most Wins by a Thoroughbred

Midnight Lute (2007 & 2008) & Roy H (2017 & 2018)

Most Wins by a Jockey

Corey Nakatani (1996, 1997, 1998, 2006)

Most Wins by a Trainer

Bob Baffert (1992, 2007, 2008, 2013, 2016)

Most Wins by an Owner

Pegram/Watson & Weitman (2007, 2008, 2013)

Historical Results for Breeders’ Cup Sprint

In the table below, view a historical record of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Breeders’ Cup Sprint race.

2018Roy H6Paco LopezPeter MillerRockingham Ranch & D. A. Bernsen1:08.24
2017Roy H5Kent DesormeauxPeter MillerRockingham Ranch & D. A. Bernsen01:08.61
2016Drefong3Martin GarciaBob BaffertBaoma Corporation01:08.8
2015Runhappy3Edgar PradoMaria BorellJames McIngvale01:08.6
2014Work All Week5Florent GerouxRoger BrueggemannMidwest Thoroughbreds Inc01:08.3
2013Secret Circle4Martin GarciaBob BaffertK. Watson, M. Pegram & P. Weitman01:08.7
2012Trinniberg3Willie MartinezShivananda ParbhooSherry Parbhoo01:08.0
2011Amazombie5Mike E. SmithBill SpawrSpawr & Sanford01:09.2
2010Big Drama4Eibar CoaDavid FawkesHarold Queen01:09.0
2009Dancing in Silks4Joel RosarioCarla GainesKen Kinakin01:08.1
2008Midnight Lute5Garrett GomezBob BaffertPegram/Watson & Weitman01:07.1
2007Midnight Lute4Garrett GomezBob BaffertPegram/Watson & Weitman01:09.2
2006Thor's Echo4Corey NakataniDoug O'NeillR.S. Jaime/Suarez Racing01:08.8
2005Silver Train3Edgar PradoRichard DutrowBuckram Oak Farm01:08.9
2004Speightstown6John VelazquezTodd A. PletcherEugene Melnyk01:08.1
2003Cajun Beat3Cornelio VelasquezSteve MargolisPadua S./J. & J. Iracane01:07.9
2002Orientate4Jerry BaileyD. Wayne LukasBob & Beverly Lewis01:08.9
2001Squirtle Squirt3Jerry BaileyRobert J. FrankelDavid J. Lanzman01:08.4
2000Kona Gold6Alex SolisBruce HeadleyHeadley/Molasky/High Tech01:07.6
1999Artax4Jorge F. ChavezLouis AlbertraniParaneck Stable01:07.8
1998Reraise3Corey NakataniCraig DollaseB Fey/M Han et al.01:09.0
1997Elmhurst7Corey NakataniJenine SahadiEvergreen Farm & Sahadi01:08.2
1996Lit de Justice6Corey NakataniJenine SahadiEvergreen Farm01:08.6
1995Desert Stormer5Kent DesormeauxFrank LyonsJoanne H. Nor01:09.0
1994Cherokee Run4Mike E. SmithFrank A. AlexanderJill E. Robinson01:09.4
1993Cardmania7Ed DelahoussayeDerek MeredithJean Couvercelle01:08.6
1992Thirty Slews5Eddie DelahoussayeBob BaffertDeGroot/Dutch Masters/Pegram01:08.2
1991Sheikh Albadou3Pat EdderyAlex ScottHilal Salem01:09.2
1990Safely Kept4Craig PerretAlan E. GoldbergJayeff B Stable01:09.6
1989Dancing Spree4Angel Cordero, Jr.C. R. McGaughey IIIOgden Phipps01:09.0
1988Gulch4Angel Cordero, Jr.D. Wayne LukasPeter M. Brant01:10.4
1987Very Subtle3Pat ValenzuelaMelvin F. StuteBen Rochelle01:08.8
1986Smile4Jacinto VasquezScotty SchulhoferFrances A. Genter01:08.4
1985Precisionist4Chris McCarronRoss FenstermakerFred W. Hooper01:08.4
1984Eillo4Craig PerretBudd LepmanCrown Stable01:10.2