Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint

  • 2018 Location: Churchill Downs
  • Inaugural Race: 2008
  • Distance: 5.5 Furlongs
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Turf
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds and up
  • 2018 Purse: $1.0 million
  • 2018 Race Date: Saturday, November 3rd

Breeders' Cup 2018 at Churchill Downs

2018 Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint – Who’s In?

Below are the official entries and morning line odds for the 2018 Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint:

PositionHorse NameOddsJockeyTrainerChallenge Series Wins
1Ruby Notion20-1Florent GerouxDarrin Millern/a
2Bucchero10-1Fernando De La CruzTim Glyshawn/a
3Hembree20-1Tyler GaffalioneMichael Makern/a
4Vision Perfect15-1Javier CastellanoJason Servisn/a
5Disco Partner7-2Joel RosarioChristophe ClementJaipur Invitational Stakes
6Rainbow Heir12-1Jose OrtizJason Servisn/a
7Lost Treasure (IRE)20-1Ryan MooreAidan O'Brienn/a
8Chanteline15-1Ricardo Santana, Jr.Steven Asmussenn/a
9Stormy Liberal4-1Drayden Van DykePeter Millern/a
10Havana Grey (GB)20-1PJ McDonaldKarl Richard BurkeDerrinstown Stud Flying Five Stakes
11World of Trouble6-1Irad Ortiz Jr.Jason Servisn/a
12Richard's Boy12-1Paco LopezPeter Millern/a
13Will Call20-1Shaun BridgmohanBrad Coxn/a
14Conquest Tsunami6-1Flavien PratPeter Millern/a
15Insta Erma (AE)n/aJoel RosarioRichard Baltasn/a

Recent Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint Betting News

Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint History

First staged in 2008, the Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint has become one of the world’s premier sprint races on grass that’s run around a turn. The distance has varied between five furlongs and 6 ½ furlongs, and it will be held at five furlongs in 2017.

The race graduated to grade three status in 2010, grade two in 2011, and by 2012 it was a grade one race. That was the year that Mizdirection won the first of her two Turf Sprint victories for trainer Mike Puype. She finished second in voting for the Eclipse Award for Champion Female Sprinter, a fantastic effort for a turf mare.

So far every edition of the Turf Sprint has been won by a horse based in the United States, though the 2015 winner had a very international flavor. Mongolian Saturday, the winner by a nose, was owned by Mongolian Stable, run by brothers Tserenjigmed and Ganbaatar Dagvadorj, and trained by Mongolian expatriate Enebash Ganbat. The team wore colorful Mongolian traditional clothes when they accepted the trophy. The horse has since raced around the world, and may return for a third attempt at the race in 2017.

Other notable winners were California Flag (2009), who subsequently finished third in the Al Quoz Sprint in Dubai, and Bobby’s Kitten (2014), who subsequently won the Cork Stakes in Ireland.

Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint:

Most Wins by a Thoroughbred

Mizdirection (2012, 2013)

Most Wins by a Jockey

Mike Smith (2012, 2013) Joel Rosario (2014, 2017)

Most Wins by a Trainer

Mike Puype (2012, 2013)

Most Wins by an Owner

Jungle Racing/KMN Racing et al. (2012, 2013)

Historical Results for Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint

In the table below, view a historical record of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Breeders’ Cup Turf Sprint race.

2017Stormy Liberal5Joel RosarioPeter MillerRockingham Ranch5 f00:56.12
2016Obviously8Flavien PratPhilip D'AmatoAnthony Fanticola & Joseph Scardinoabt.  6 1⁄2 f01:11.3
2015Mongolian Saturday5Florent GerouxEnebish GanbatMongolian Stableabt.  5 1⁄2 f01:03.2
2014Bobby's Kitten3Joel RosarioChad BrownKen & Sarah Ramseyabt.  6 1⁄2 f01:12.7
2013Mizdirection5Mike SmithMike PuypeJungle Racing/KMN Racing et al.abt.  6 1⁄2 f01:12.2
2012Mizdirection4Mike SmithMike PuypeJungle Racing/KMN Racing et al.abt.  6 1⁄2 f01:11.4
2011Regally Ready4Corey NakataniSteve AsmussenVinery Stable5 f00:56.5
2010Chamberlain Bridge6Jamie TheriotBret CalhounCarl Moore Management5 f00:56.5
2009California Flag5Joe TalamoBrian KorinerHi Card Ranchabt.  6 1⁄2 f01:11.3
2008Desert Code4Richard MiglioreDavid HofmansTarabilla Farmsabt.  6 1⁄2 f01:11.6