Breeders’ Cup Longines Turf

  • 2019 Location: Santa Anita Park
  • Inaugural Race: 1984
  • Distance: 1 & 1/2 mile (12 Furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Turf
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds and up
  • 2019 Purse: $4.0 million
  • 2019 Race Date: Saturday, November 2rd

2019 Breeders Cup Championship - BetAmerica

2019 Breeders’ Cup Turf – Who’s In?

Below are the official entries and morning line odds for the 2019 Breeders’ Cup Turf:

PositionHorse NameOddsJockeyTrainerChallenge Series Wins
TBDIl MercatoTBDJuan Carlos NoriegaJuan Sebastián Maldotti Gran Premio Internacional Carlos Pellegrini
TBDGeorge WashingtonTBDMercelo ConcalvesLuiz EstevesGrande Prêmio Brasil
TBDCrystal OceanTBDFrankie DettoriMichael StoutePrince of Wales's Stakes
TBDLys GracieuxTBDDamian Lane Yoshito YahagiTakarazuka Kinen
TBDEnableTBDFrankie DettoriJohn GosdenKing George VI & Queen Elizabeth Stakes
TBDBricks and MortarTBDIrad Ortiz Jr.Chad BrownArlington Million
TBDAcclimateTBDFlorent GerouxPhil D'AmatoDel Mar Handicap
TBDTBDTBDTBDTBDSword Dancer Invitational
TBDTBDTBDTBDTBDIrish Champion Stakes
TBDTBDTBDTBDTBDPrix de l'Arc de Triomphe

Recent Breeders’ Cup Longines Turf Betting News

Breeders’ Cup Turf Race History

The second-richest race on the Breeders’ Cup programme behind the Classic, the 1 ½-mile Turf has been one of the most competitive races since the series began in 1984. Like all the turf races, it attracts top horses from Europe as well as North America.

Europeans won the first two editions, with Lashkari winning in 1994 and Pebbles successful the following year. Champion British 3-year-old Dancing Brave was all the rage in 1986, but the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe winner was below his best, finishing fourth to Manila. Former European champion Theatrical beat another Arc winner in Trempolino the next year.

Kotashaan won an outstanding renewal of the race in 1993, on his way to winning the Horse of the Year title. Chief Bearhart won the race for Canada in 1997, while 1999 saw Frankie Dettori score the first of four Breeders’ Cup Turf victories aboard the outstanding grey Daylami for Godolphin; the same jockey-trainer combination won two years later with Fantastic Light.

Leading Irish trainer Aidan O’Brien appeared on the winner’s list for the first time in 2002 with the Epsom Derby winner High Chaparral. The same horse was back the following year, and dead-heated for first with Johar.

English horse Conduit became the first dual winner of the race in 2008 and 2009, while the current decade has been dominated by O’Brien, who scored victories with St Nicholas Abbey (2011), Magician (2013), Found (2015), and Highland Reel (2016).

European-trained horses have won 20 and dead-heated in another of the 33 renewals of the race, but curiously, no winner of the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe has completed the double.

Breeders’ Cup Turf – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the Breeders’ Cup Turf:

Speed record

Little Mike (2012)

Most Wins by a Thoroughbred

Conduit (2008, 2009) & High Chaparral (2002, 2003)

Most Wins by a Jockey

Frankie Dettori (1999, 2001, 2006, 2010) & Ryan Moore (2008, 2009, 2013, 2015)

Most Wins by a Trainer

Aidan O’Brien (2002, 2003, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2016)

Most Wins by an Owner

Sue Magnier, Michael Tabor & Derrick Smith (2002, 2003, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2016)

Historical Results for Breeders’ Cup Turf

In the table below, view a historical record of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Breeders’ Cup Turf race.

20184EnableFrankie DettoriJohn GosdenKhalid ibn Abdullah2:32.65
20174TalismanicMickael BarzalonaAndré FabreGodolphin Stable2:26.19
20164Highland Reel (IRE)Seamie HeffernanAidan O'BrienMr M. Tabor D. Smith & Mrs John Magnier2:23.00
20153Found (IRE)Ryan MooreAidan O'BrienMr M. Tabor D. Smith & Mrs John Magnier2:32.06
20145Main SequenceJohn VelazquezH. Graham MotionFlaxman Holdings Ltd.2:24.91
20133Magician (IRE)Ryan MooreAidan O'BrienTabor, Michael B., Smith, Derrick and Magnier, Susan2:23.23
20125Little MikeR. DominguezD. RomansPriscilla Vaccarezza2:22.83
20114St Nicholas Abbey (IRE)J. O'BrienA. O'BrienMrs. John Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith2:28:85
20104Dangerous MidgeL. DettoriB. MeehanIraj Parvizi2:29.40
20094Conduit (IRE)R. MooreS. StouteBallymacoll Farm2:23.75
20083Conduit (IRE)R. MooreS. StouteBallymacoll Farm2:23.42
20075English ChannelJ. VelazquezT. PletcherJames T. Scatuorchio2:36.96
20063Red Rocks (IRE)L. DettoriB. MeehanJ. Paul Reddam2:27.32
20054Shirocco (GER)C. SoumillonA. FabreBaron Georg Von Ullmann2:29.20
20045Better Talk NowR. DominguezH. MotionBushwood Racing Partners LLC2:29.70
20034High Chaparral (IRE)M. KinaneA. O'BrienMichael Tabor & Mrs. John Magnier2:24.24
20034JoharA. SolisR. MandellaThe Thoroughbred Corporation (Ahmed bin Salman)2:24.24
20023High Chaparral (IRE)M. KinaneA. O'BrienMichael Tabor & Mrs. John Magnier2:30.14
20015Fantastic LightL. DettoriS. bin SuroorGodolphin Racing Inc.2:24.20
20004Kalanisi (IRE)J. MurtaghS. StouteH.H. Aga Khan2:26.96
19995Daylami (IRE)L. DettoriS. bin SuroorGodolphin Racing Inc.2:24.73
19985Buck's BoyS. SellersP. HickeyQuarter B Farm2:28.74
19974Chief BearhartJ. SantosM. FrostadSam-Son Farm2:23.92
19964Pilsudski (IRE)W. SwinburnS. StouteLord A. Weinstock & Exors of late S. Weinstock2:30.20
19954Northern Spur (IRE)C. McCarronR. McAnallyCharles J. Cella2:42.07
19943TikkanenM. SmithJ. PeaseAugustin Stables (George Strawbridge Jr.)2:26.50
19935Kotashaan (FR)K. DesormeauxR. MandellaLa Presle Farm (Wertheimer Bros.)2:25.16
19924FraiseP. ValenzuelaW. MottMadeleine Paulson2:24.08
19914Miss AllegedE. LegrixP. BaryFares Farm (Issam Fares)2:30.95
19904In the Wings (GB)G. StevensA. FabreSheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al Maktoum2:29.60
19893PrizedE. DelahoussayeN. DrysdaleClover Racing Stable & Meadowbrook Farms2:28.00
19885Great CommunicatorR. SibilleT. AckelClass Act Stable2:35.20
19875Theatrical (IRE)P. DayW. MottAllen E. Paulson2:24.40
19863ManilaJ. SantosL. JolleyBradley M. Shannon2:25.40
19854Pebbles (GB)P. EdderyC. BrittainSheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al Maktoum2:27.00
19843Lashkari (GB)Y. Saint-MartinA. De Royer-DupreH.H. Aga Khan2:25.20