College Basketball

Betting on NCAA College Basketball

Betting on the moneyline, spread and total in NCAA Division I college basketball remain the go-to option for most players. Futures and prop betting are also popular as well, especially during March Madness and the road to the Final Four.

NCAAB Moneyline Betting

The moneyline is a wager on the straight-up winner of the game. In most cases, there will be a favorite and an underdog listed for each game. Placing a bet on the favorite will offer a lower payout, while placing a bet on an underdog will offer a premium payout, if they win. The NCAAB moneyline is typically based on the bet required to win $100 if betting on the favorite vs. the potential win for a bet of $100 placed on the underdog.

NCAAB Against the Spread Betting

The point spread is the number of points taken from the favorite, or assigned to the underdog, to give both sides an even chance of winning the wager. For instance, if the Duke Blue Devils are -10 favorites against the North Carolina Tar Heels, they will need to win their game by 11 points or more to “cover” the spread. Conversely, the Tar Heels need to either win or lose by nine points or less to cover.

North Carolina Tar Heels+10 (-110)+360O 142.5 (-110)
Duke Blue Devils-10 (-110)-485U 142.5 (-110)

Against the Spread (ATS) bets add excitement to games that may otherwise be lopsided affairs.

NCAAB Over/Under Betting

An NCAAB over/under bet involves simply choosing whether you think there will be more total points scored by both teams, or less total scores, than the figure listed on the published line.

NCAAB Futures Betting

Futures, as the name suggests, are wagers based upon events which may, or may not, transpire at a much later date. The futures market for the NCAAB revolves heavily around which team will win the national championship, as well as which players will win annual awards such as the John R. Wooden Award. These are long-term investments that can reap big rewards for savvy bettors.

Wager on NCAA college basketball action now here.

Past 10 NCAAB National Champions

YearTeamHead Coach
2011DukeMike Krzyzewski
2011ConnecticutJim Calhoun
2012KentuckyJohn Calipari
2013LouisvilleRick Pitino
2014ConnecticutKevin Ollie
2015DukeMike Krzyzewski
2016VillanovaJay Wright
2017North CarolinaRoy Williams
2018VillanovaJay Wright
2019VirginiaTony Bennett

NCAAB Championship Trends

  • The ACC and Pac-12 have produced more national champions than any other conference with 12 a piece
  • California has produced the most championship teams thanks, in large part, to UCLA’s dynasty during the 1960s and 70s. San Francisco also won back-to-back titles in 1955 and 1956 and Stanford was the last team standing in 1942
  • 2008 marked the first – and so far only – year that all four top seeded teams reached the Final Four

NCAAB Programs with the Most National Championships

SchoolNCAAB ChampionshipsLast NCAAB Championship
North Carolina62017
Kansas 32008

When it comes to national titles, everyone is still chasing the Bruins. UCLA won an unprecedented seven consecutive championships from 1967 to 1973 under the steady leadership of legendary head coach John Wooden.

NCAAB Programs with the Most Wooden Award Winners

SchoolWooden AwardsYears
Duke61992, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2006, 2019
North Carolina41978, 1984, 1998, 2008
UCLA21977, 1995
St. John's21985, 1986
Virginia21982, 1983
Texas22003, 2007
BYU21981, 2011
Kansas21988, 2017
Oklahoma22009, 2016

The NCAA has been honoring its most outstanding player since 1977 with the introduction of the John R. Wooden Award. The award is given annually by the Los Angeles Athletic Club and is voted upon by a selection of 1,000 journalists and sportscasters representing all 50 states. Here are three things you need to know about this prestigious honor:

  • Candidates for the award must be full-time students with a cumulative 2.00 grade point average
  • Former Virginia center Ralph Sampson is the only player in NCAAB history to win the Wooden Award multiple times
  • Zion Williamson, Anthony Davis and Kevin Durant are the only freshmen to win the Wooden Award

College Basketball News