Big 12 Conference (XII)

The Big 12 conference contains Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas, Texas Tech and West Virginia.


The Big 12 was founded in 1994 from a combination of the Big Eight Conference and the Southwest conference. The Big Eight was split up in the new conference between two divisions as six of the original members formed the Big 12 North (Kansas, Kansas State, Colorado, Nebraska, Missouri, and Iowa State) while the remaining two Big Eight members were grouped with the Southwest Conference members to form the Big 12 South (Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas, Texas A&M, Baylor, and Texas Tech). The conference has kept its name for branding purposes but has realigned over the years and currently consists of only ten full-time members with affiliate members in sports outside of football, basketball, and baseball.

Format and Scheduling

Current Big 12 members play a round robin style. Every team in the conference plays one another and the top two teams at the end of the regular season meet to play the Big 12 Championship game in Arlington, Texas each season. The Big 12 is the only conference in college football in which each team has to play every member of the conference before determining a championship game. The remaining spots on each team’s schedule is then utilized for out-of-conference match-ups including Power 5 crossover events in the beginning of each season.

Big 12 Conference Championships by School

SchoolConference ChampionshipsNational Championships
Oklahoma(11) 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2017(7) 1950, 1955, 1956, 1974, 1975, 1985, 2000
Texas(3) 1996, 2005, 2009(4) 1963, 1969, 1970, 2005
Baylor(2) 2013, 2014(0)
Kansas State(2) 2003, 2012(0)
Nebraska(2) 1997, 1999(5) 1970, 1971, 1994, 1995, 1997
Colorado(1) 2001(1) 1990
Oklahoma State(1) 2011(1) 1945
TCU(1) 2014(2) 1935, 1938
Texas A&M(1) 1998(3) 1919, 1927, 1939
Iowa State(0)(0)
Texas Tech(0)(0)
West Virginia(0)(0)

Recent Big 12 News