The Fiesta Bowl

The Fiesta Bowl is one of the top tier, post-season games in college football. It is currently sponsored by Playstation.

Who will play in the 2019 Fiesta Bowl of College Football?

College Football Bowl

Bids for the 2019 Fiesta Bowl were accepted by the LSU Tigers of the SEC and UCF Knights of the AAC. LSU finished 5-3 in-conference and 9-3 overall, while the UCF Knights enter after defeating Memphis in the AAC Championship and finishing 8-0 in-conference and 12-0 for the season.

The History of College Football’s Fiesta Bowl

The Fiesta Bowl was originated in 1971 and was held annually at Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe, Arizona through 2006.

Since 2007, the Fiesta Bowl has been played at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Arizona (previously named University of Phoenix Stadium).

In 1998, the Fiesta Bowl became part of the Bowl Championship Series (BCS). The Fiesta Bowl hosted the National Championship game for the last time in 2010.

Beginning with the 2014 season, the Fiesta Bowl became part of the College Football Playoff (CFP) and hosts a semi-final game every three years.

In 1981, the Fiesta Bowl was shifted to New Year’s Day to join the other major bowls – Cotton, Orange, Sugar and Rose.

The 1987 Fiesta Bowl was played on Jan. 2 after the four major bowls, and the Fiesta Bowl drew the largest TV audience in the history of college football at the time with Penn State defeating Miami, 14-10.

In 1996, the Fiesta Bowl produced the largest winning margin in the history of the National Championship game when No. 1 Nebraska beat No. 2 Florida 62-24.

Starting with the 1999 season, the Fiesta Bowl began hosting the Big 12 Conference champion in years when it was not slated as the BCS title game, an arrangement that continued until the end of the BCS era. The 1999 Fiesta Bowl played host to the first BCS National Championship game. Tennessee defeated Florida State 23-16.

Fiesta Bowl Historic Moments

The 2003 Fiesta Bowl was the first overtime national championship game. Ohio State defeated Miami 31-24 in double overtime.

The 2005 Fiesta Bowl was the first BCS Bowl to have an entry from outside the BCS parameters, as Utah from the Mountain West Conference defeated Big East champion Pittsburgh 35-7.

In the 2007 Fiesta Bowl, Boise State won an overtime thriller against Oklahoma, 43-42, in what has been called one of the greatest college football games in history.

The 2010 Fiesta Bowl was the first BCS Bowl match-up of two non-automatic qualifying teams (conferences without automatic BCS bids) and the first time that two undefeated teams faced each other in a BCS game outside of a national championship.

The 2016 Fiesta Bowl served as a national semifinal game for the College Football Playoff, and Ohio State defeated Notre Dame 44-28.

The Fiesta Bowl will host a College Football Playoff semifinal in 2019, 2022 and 2025.

Recent Fiesta Bowl News