The Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl is a College Football Playoff semifinal game that will send the winner to the 2018 National Championship.

Who will play in the Orange Bowl of College Football?

The 2019 Orange Bowl will feature two college football powerhouses. The Alabama Crimson Tide, who defeated the outstanding Georgia Bulldogs, enters with an 8-0 conference and 13-0 overall NCAAF record. The Oklahoma Sooners enter after winning the Big 12 Championship against Texas and boast 2019 Heisman winning quarterback Kyler Murray.

The History of College Football’s Orange Bowl

The Orange Bowl has been played annually since Jan. 1, 1935 in Miami, Florida and is held at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens since 1996. Since December 2014, the game has been known as the Capital One Orange Bowl and is part of the College Football Playoff.

In the early years of the Orange Bowl, there was no conference tie-in. On January 1, 1965, the Texas vs. Alabama Orange Bowl was the first college bowl game to be televised live in prime time. The game usually featured the champion of the former Big Eight Conference starting in 1968.

From 1998 to 2005, the game hosted the champion of either the ACC or Big East conferences, unless they were invited to the National Championship game, or if the Orange Bowl itself was hosting the National Championship matchup.

From 2006-2013, the Orange Bowl was part of the Bowl Championship Series (BCS), and the site of the Orange Bowl also hosted the National Championship gameon a four-year rotation with the other three BCS games; Sugar Bowl, Fiesta Bowl, and Rose Bowl.

Starting in 2015, the Orange Bowl was one of six major bowls to host a College Football Playoff (CFP) game on a rotating basis. Usually played at night, the 2015 Orange Bowl was the first in 51 years with an afternoon kickoff. Clemson (+3.5) beat Oklahoma 37-17 before losing to Alabama in the national title game.

Orange Bowl Historic Moments

Oklahoma (20) and Nebraska (17) have competed in the most Orange Bowls, and Oklahoma has won a record 12 Orange Bowls.

In 1984, local Miami University won its first national championship, beating Nebraska 31-30 in the Orange Bowl.

In the 2000 Orange Bowl, Michigan beat Alabama 35-34 in the first overtime game of the BCS era.

The 2006 Orange Bowl was the final meeting between coaching legends Joe Paterno and Bobby Bowden. Penn State won in three overtimes, 26-23.

The 2018 Orange Bowl is a College Football Playoff national semifinal game between No. 1 Alabama and No. 4 Oklahoma on Dec. 29, 2018, and features the two Heisman Trophy finalist quarterbacks.

Recent Orange Bowl News