Pacific-12 Conference (Pac-12)

The Pac-12 consists of Arizona, Arizona State, California, UCLA, Colorado, Oregon, Oregon State, USC, Stanford, Utah, Washington and Washington State.


The Western United States formerly held the Pacific Coast Conference as well as a slew of other names early in it’s life, but the 2011 Pac-12 came to fruition as Colorado and Utah were both included into the conference. The Pac-12 has been formerly known as the Big Five, Big Six, Pacific-8, and Pacific-10. The conference has earned the nickname of “Conference of Champions” due to the fact that teams in the Pac-12 have collectively earned more team sport national championships than any other athletic conference in Division I.

Format and Scheduling

Rivalries frequently discussed include Oregon vs. Oregon State, California vs. Stanford, Arizona vs. Arizona State, Colorado vs. Utah, Washington vs. Washington State and UCLA vs. USC. In fact, in a general sense each of the California-based universities in the Pac-12 consider one another a rival. Other rivalries are derived from in-state university splits or regional groupings. The Pac-12 is split into two divisions, the North and South divisions. The conference plays a nine-game conference schedule leaving three games open to out-of-conference play. At the end of each season the leaders of each Pac-12 division play one another in the Pac-12 Championship in Levi’s Stadium.

Pac-12 Football Championships by School

SchoolPac-12 ChampionshipsNational Championships
Arizona State(2) 1970, 1975(0)
California(5) 1920, 1921, 1922, 1923, 1937(5) 1920, 1921, 1922, 1923, 1937
UCLA(1) 1954
Colorado(1) 1990(1) 1990
Oregon State(0)
USC(16) 1928, 1929, 1931, 1932, 1933, 1939, 1962, 1967, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1978, 1979, 2002, 2003, 2004(11) 1928, 1931, 1932, 1939, 1962, 1967, 1972, 1974, 1978, 2003, 2004
Stanford(2) 1926, 1940(2) 1926, 1940
Washington(4) 1960, 1984, 1990, 1991(4) 1960, 1984, 1990, 1991
Washington State(0)

Recent Pac-12 News