Beresford Stakes

  • Location: The Curragh (Naas in 2017), Ireland
  • Inaugural Race: Mid-19th Century
  • Distance: One mile
  • Track Type: Right-Handed Turf (Naas is left-handed).
  • Age Qualifications: Two-year-olds
  • 2019 Purse: €110,000
  • 2019 Race Date: Sunday, September 29th

2019 Beresford Stakes Entries and Results

4Innisfree Donnacha O'BrienAidan O'Brien£1.40£1.02
6ShekhemC. D. HayesD. K. Weld£1.70
3Gold MazeShane FoleyMrs J. Harrington
1CamorraC. T. KeaneG. M. Lyons
7SilvertownR. P. WhelanAndrew Oliver

Exotic Payoffs

  • Exacta (4-6) Paid: £2.80
  • Trifecta (4-6-3) Paid: £7.30

Watch the 2019 Beresford Stakes

The History of the Beresford Stakes

Founded in the middle of the 19th century, the Beresford Stakes has long been one of Ireland’s leading 2-year-old races. Run over a mile, it is usually held at The Curragh, the headquarters of Irish racing, though it was moved to Naas in 2017 while The Curragh was being redeveloped.

With the introduction of the European Road to the Kentucky Derby for the 2018 Run for the Roses, the Beresford Stakes became the first of four 2-year-old races that form part of the series. Points are allocated to the first four home on a 10-4-2-1 basis.

Some of the greatest horses in European racing history have won the Beresford Stakes, including Nijinsky, Sadler’s Wells, El Prado, Azamour, Sea the Stars, and St Nicholas Abbey. In recent years the race has been dominated by Coolmore trainer Aidan O’Brien, who has saddled the winner 17 of the past 22 years.