El Camino Real Derby

  • Location: Golden Gate Fields, Berkeley, CA
  • Inaugural Race: 1982
  • Current Distance: 1 1/8 miles
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt (Synthetic)
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • 2020 Purse: $100,000
  • 2020 Race Date: Saturday, February 15th

2019 El Camino Real Derby Entries and Results

4AnothertwistafateJuan J. HernandezBlaine D. Wright$4.40$2.60$2.40
9KinglyEvin A. RomanBob Baffert$3.00$2.60
12More IceAbel CedilloJerry Hollendorfer$3.80
1Angelo's PrideSilvio Ruiz AmadorWilliam Delia
6Weekly CallAlonso QuinonezDoug F. O'Neill
13Mayor CobbWilliam Antongeorgi IIIJonathan Wong
5The CreepBrice BlancDoug F. O'Neill
8Rey ColimanCatalino MartinezFelix Rondan
3Data HawkRicardo GonzalezTim McCanna
2King of SpeedHeriberto FigueroaJeff Bonde
10Knight's CrossDiego SanchezJ. Keith Desormeaux

Exotic Payoffs:

$2 Exacta (4-9) $11.80
$2 Trifecta (4-9-12) $73.20
$2 Superfecta (4-9-12-1) $817.80


Recent El Camino Real Derby News

  • BARN Podcast 2/19/19 (2/18/2019) - We're back from the holiday weekend and discussing all the action that happened including the Risen Star card at Fair Grounds, a stacked Santa Monica… ...Read More
  • BARN Podcast 2/15/19 (2/14/2019) - We're helping getting you ready for the weekend as we preview stakes action from Santa Anita, Laurel, and the El Camino Real Derby from Golden… ...Read More
  • BARN Podcast 2/16/17 (2/16/2017) - Jason covers the news of the day and is joined by Matt Dinerman from Golden Gate Fields to discuss the upcoming El Camino Real Derby… ...Read More
  • Weekend Pick 3 Look Back (2/16/2016) -   What a crazy fun holiday weekend of racing. Usually on Monday editions of the BARN I lead with my Pick 3, the three topics… ...Read More

Watch the 2019 El Camino Real Derby

History of the El Camino Real Derby

Northern California’s most important Kentucky Derby prep race is the El Camino Real Derby. First run in 1982, it’s now part of the Road to the Kentucky Derby series. Points are handed out to the first four finishers on a 10-4-2-1 basis.

Over the years the El Camino Real Derby was won by a number of outstanding horses. Interestingly, it was a better guide to the Preakness Stakes than the Kentucky Derby, with Tank’s Prospect, Snow Chief, and Tabasco Cat all winning both races.

Golden Gate Fields installed a Tapeta artificial track in 2007 and it hasn’t been such a great guide to the Kentucky Derby since then. Probably the best winner in recent years was the multiple graded stakes winner Daddy Nose Best, successful in 2012.

El Camino Real Derby Trivia

How many winners of the El Camino Real have also won the Preakness Stakes?


Tank’s Prospect in 1985, Snow Chief in 1986 and Tabasco Cat in 1994 all won the El Camino Real and the Preakness.

How many times has jockey Russell Baze won the El Camino Real?


Russell Baze has won the El Camino Real an astonishing nine times in 30 years: 1984, 1998, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2014.

Which owner has the most wins in the El Camino Real Derby?

Jenny Craig

Jenny Craig has won the race twice: in 2002 with Yougottawanna and again in 2009 with Chocolate Candy.

What is the record number of wins by a trainer?


Trainer Jerry Hollendorfer has won the race a record six times, in 1998, 2002, 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2014.

Previous Winners of the El Camino Real Derby

2019AnothertwistafateJuan J. HernandezBlaine D. WrightPeter Redekop B. C., Ltd.
2018PavedDrayden Van DykeMichael W. McCarthyCiaglia Racing LLC
2017ZakaroffKyle FreySteven SpechtEagle Ridge Racing LLC
2016Frank ConversationMario GutierrezDoug F. O'NeillReddam Racing
2015MetabossAlex O. SolisJeff BondeArndt/McFetridge/Preiss/Metanovic/Azcarate
2014TamarandoRussell BazeJerry HollendorferMr. & Mrs. Larry Williams
2013Dice FlavorJose Valdivia, Jr.Patrick GallagherOda Racing Stables and US Equine
2012Daddy Nose BestJulien LeparouxSteve AsmussenBob & Cathy Zollars
2011Silver MedallionRussell BazeSteve AsmussenMichael J. Ryan
2010ConnemaraRussell BazeTodd A. PletcherMichael Tabor
2009Chocolate CandyRussell BazeJerry HollendorferSidney Craig & Jenny Craig
2008Autism AwarenessLuis ContrerasGenaro VallejoJohnny Taboada
2007Bwana BullRussell BazeJerry HollendorferMark DeDomenico et al.
2006Cause to BelieveRussell BazeJerry HollendorferPeter Redekop/Peter Abruzzo
2005Uncle DennyRussell BazeRafael BecerraStanley E. Fulton
2004KilgowanChance RollinsLonnie ArterburnTerrence & Noreen O'Neill
2003Ocean TerraceMike E. SmithRobert Hess, Jr.David Shimmon
2002YougottawannaJason LumpkinsJerry HollendorferS & J Craig/Ted Aroney
2001HoovergetthekeysRon WarrenBrian KorinerCarl Odegaard
2000Remember SheikhFrank AlvaradoLonnie ArterburnJ. Peppard / S. Smith
1999CliquotDavid R. FloresJohn Shirreffs505 Farms
1998Event of the YearRussell BazeJerry HollendorferGolden Eagle Farm
1997PacificbountyKent DesormeauxWalter GreenmanGrey, Harris et al.
1996CavonnierMartin PedrozaBob BaffertWalter Family Trust
1995JumronGoncalino AlmeidaGary LewisCharles Dunn
1994Tabasco CatPat DayD. Wayne LukasOverbrook Farm/D. Reynolds
1993El AtrozRafael MezaJose SilvaCuadra Tyt
1992Casual LiesAlan PattersonShelley L. RileyShelley L. Riley
1991Sea CadetTom ChapmanRon McAnallyV.H.W. Stables (lessee)
1990Silver EndingGary StevensRon McAnallyCostanza & McAnally
1989Double QuickAlex SolisMelvin F. StuteKing III & McGaughey
1988RuhlmannPat DayRobert J. FrankelAnn & Jerry Moss
1987Masterful AdvocateLaffit Pincay, Jr.Joseph ManziBelles (Lessee) & Leveton
1986Snow ChiefAlex SolisMelvin F. StuteGrinstead & Rochelle
1985Tank's ProspectJorge VelasquezD. Wayne LukasEugene V. Klein
1984French LegionaireRussell BazeDavid HofmansDavid V. Ringler
1983Knightly RapportFernando ToroJoseph ManziCotroneo/Leveton/Manzi
1982CassaleriaDarrel McHargueRon McAnallyJ. Brady et al.