Fountain of Youth Stakes

  • Location: Gulfstream Park, Hallandale Beach, FL
  • Inaugural Race: 1945
  • Current Distance: 1 1/16 miles
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • Status: Grade 2
  • 2018 Purse: $400,000
  • 2018 Race Date: Saturday, March 3rd

2018 Fountain of Youth Stakes Entries and Results

10Promises FulfilledIrad Ortiz, Jr.Dale L. Romans$38.40$12.80$4.60
4Strike PowerLuis SaezMark A. Hennig$6.40$3.60
6Good MagicJose L. OrtizChad C. Brown$2.20
9MachismoAlbin JimenezAnthony T. Quartarolo
8MarconiJavier CastellanoTodd A. Pletcher
7Gotta GoChris LanderosIan R. Wilkes
5Storm RunnerJoel RosarioDale L. Romans
1He Takes ChargeTyler GaffalioneMark E. Casse
3PepperedNik JuarezReade Baker

Exotic Payoffs:

  • $2 Exacta (10-4) $230.00
  • $2 Trifecta (10-4-6) $509.40
  • $2 Superfecta (10-4-6-9) $5,423.60


Recent Fountain of Youth Stakes News

Watch the 2018 Fountain of Youth Stakes

History of the Fountain of Youth Stakes

First run in 1945, the Fountain of Youth Stakes has become one of the most important spring 3-year-old races. It invariably attracts a strong field.

Its importance is reflected in the fact that it’s included in the first leg of the Road to the Kentucky Derby Championship series. The first four home earn points on a 50-20-10-5 basis, and the 50 points earned by the winner should ensure they get a start in the Kentucky Derby.

The Fountain of Youth Stakes is one of the key lead-ups to the Florida Derby. Horses to win both races include Orb, Quality Road, Scat Daddy, High Fly, Vicar, Thunder Gulch, Fly So Free, Proud Truth, Spectacular Bid, Ruthie’s Native, In Reality, Easy Spur, Tim Tam, and Gen. Duke.

There’s also a number of winners that went on to win Classics, including Orb, Union Rags, Thunder Gulch, Bet Twice, Spectacular Bid, Kauai King, and Tim Tam.

Fountain of Youth Stakes Trivia

How many winners of the Fountain of Youth have continued to win the Florida Derby?


Orb, Quality Road, Scat Daddy, High Fly, Vicar, Thunder Gulch, Fly So Free, Proud Truth, Spectacular Bid, Ruthie’s Native, In Reality, Easy Spur, Tim Tam and Gen Duke have won both the Fountain of Youth and the Florida Derby.

How many Fountain of Youth winners also won the Kentucky Derby?


Tim Tam, Kauai King, Spectacular Bid, and most recently, Orb have each won the Fountain of Youth and the Kentucky Derby.

Which trainer holds the record for most wins in the Fountain of Youth?

D. Wayne Lukas

D. Wayne Lukas has won the Fountain of Youth three times – in 1992, 1995, and 2000.

What is the record number of Fountain of Youth wins for a jockey?


Two jockeys have each won the Fountain of Youth four times: John Velazquez in 2007, 2009, 2010 and 2013 and Jerry Bailey in 1980, 1998, 2004 and 2005.

Previous Winners of the Fountain of Youth

2017GunneveraJavier CastellanoAntonio SanoPeacock Racing Stables, LLC
2016MohaymenJunior AlvaradoKiaran McLaughlinShadwell Stable
2015Itsaknockout DQLuis SaezTodd A. PletcherStarlight Racing
2014Wildcat RedLuis SaezJose GaroffaloHonors Stable
2013OrbJohn VelazquezClaude R. McGaughey IIIJanney/Phipps Stable
2012Union RagsJulien LeparouxMichael MatzChadds Ford Stable
2011SoldatAlan GarciaKiaran McLaughlinClarke/Robertson/Braverman
2010EskendereyaJohn VelazquezTodd A. PletcherZayat Stables
2009Quality RoadJohn VelazquezJames A. JerkensEdward P. Evans
2008Cool Coal ManKent DesormeauxNick ZitoRobert V. LaPenta
2007Scat DaddyJohn VelazquezTodd A. PletcherScatuorchio & Tabor
2006First Samurai DQEdgar PradoFrank L. BrothersBruce Lunsford/Robbins
2005High FlyJerry D. BaileyNick ZitoLive Oak Plantation
2004Read the FootnotesJerry D. BaileyRichard VioletteKlaravich Stables
2003Trust n LuckCornelio VelasquezRalph ZiadiePaul Robsham
2002BookletJorge ChavezJohn T. Ward, Jr.John C. Oxley
2001SongandaprayerEdgar PradoJohn F. DowdBobby Hurley
2000High YieldPat DayD. Wayne LukasM. Tabor & R & B Lewis
1999VicarShane SellersCarl NafzgerJames B. Tafel
1998Lil's LadJerry D. BaileyNeil J. HowardDurst/Farish/Centennial
1997PulpitShane SellersFrank L. BrothersClaiborne Farm
1996Built For PleasureGary BoulangerTommy Heard, Jr.Tommy Heard, Jr.
1995Thunder GulchMike E. SmithD. Wayne LukasMichael Tabor
1994DehereCraig PerretReynaldo NoblesDue Process Stable
1993Duc d'SligovilJulie KroneJeremy McNeillRay McNeill
1993Storm TowerRick WilsonBen Perkins, Jr.Charles Hesse
1992Dance FloorChris AntleyD. Wayne LukasOaktown Stable
1991Fly So FreeJose A. SantosScotty SchulhoferT. & E. Valando
1990Shot Gun ScottDave PennaRonald J. SarazinJean Friedberg/Scott Hamilton
1989Dixieland BrassRandy RomeroCharles PeoplesBayard Sharp/W. Farish
1988Forty NinerEddie MapleWoody StephensClaiborne Farm
1987Bet TwiceCraig PerretWarren CrollBlanche P. Levy/Cisley Stable
1986Ensighn RhythmJulio PezuaLeo Azpurua, Jr.Lushland Farm
1986MyPrince CharmingJose A. SantosNewcome GreenDon Aronow
1985Proud TruthJorge VelasquezJohn M. VeitchDarby Dan Farm
1984Darn That AlarmMike VeneziaGeorge GianosRobert N. Caporella
1983Highland ParkDon BrumfieldAnthony BasileBwamazon Farm
1983CopelanLaffit Pincay, Jr.Mitch GriffinFred W. Hooper
1982Star GallantSandy HawleyLeonard ImperloBuckram Oak Farm
1981AkureyriEddie MapleWoody StephensHickory Tree Stable
1980Naked SkyJerry D. BaileyNeal WinickMaribel G. Blum
1979Spectacular BidRon FranklinBud DelpHawksworth Farm
1978Sensitive PrinceMickey SolomoneH. Allen JerkensTop the Marc Stable
1977Ruthies NativeCraig PerretEugene JacobsRuth A. Perlmutter
1976SonkisserBraulio BaezaStephen DiMauroHarold Snyder
1975Greek AnswerMickey SolomoneFrank H. MerrillW. Preston Gilbride
1974Green GambadosChuck BaltazarJohn W. JacobsHarbor View Farm
1973Shecky GreeneBraulio BaezaLou M. GoldfineJoseph Kellman