Holy Bull Stakes

  • Location: Gulfstream Park, Hallandale Beach, FL
  • Inaugural Race: 1990
  • Current Distance: 1 1/16 miles
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • Status: Grade 2
  • 2018 Purse: $350,000
  • 2018 Race Date: Saturday, February 10th

2018 Holy Bull Stakes Entries and Results

4AudibleJavier CastellanoTodd A. Pletcher$8.40$4.40$3.20
2Free Drop BillyLuis SaezDale L. Romans$4.40$3.00
7Tiz MischiefRobby AlbaradoDale L. Romans$3.00
1EnticedJoel RosarioKiaran P. McLaughlin
8Pony UpJohn R. VelazquezTodd A. Pletcher
9Tip SheetEmisael JaramilloStanley I. Gold
5BanditoEdgard J. ZayasDale L. Romans
3Master ManipulatorJose L. OrtizEric J. Guillot
10AequorJose LezcanoGustavo Delgado

Exotic Payoffs:

  • $2 Exacta (4-2) $37.80
  • $2 Trifecta (4-2-7) $128.40
  • $2 Superfecta (4-2-7-1) $240.60

Recent Holy Bull Stakes News

Watch the 2017 Holy Bull Stakes

History of the Holy Bull Stakes

Inaugurated as the Preview Stakes in 1990 to replace the Flamingo Stakes following the closure of Hialeah Park, the race was re-christened in 1996 as the Holy Bull Stakes in honor of the Hall of Fame racehorse. It first became a grade three race in 1995, and continued to gain enough strength to become a grade two event in 2014.

It has been part of the Road to the Kentucky Derby since that series’ inception in 2013, with the first four finishers earning points on the table on a 10-4-2-1 basis.

To date, two winners of the Holy Bull Stakes have gone on to win the Kentucky Derby: Go For Gin (1994), and Barbaro (2006). Many runners go on to contest the Fountain of Youth Stakes and the Florida Derby, the other Gulfstream Park races on the Road to the Kentucky Derby. There is almost always depth to the race, and a few that will make the Kentucky Derby field.

Holy Bull Stakes Trivia

How many Kentucky Derby winners have also won the Holy Bull?


Kentucky Derby winners Barbaro (2006) and Go For Gin (1994) each won the Holy Bull as they prepped for the Triple Crown races.

Which trainers hold the record for most wins in the race?

Nick Zito and Kieran McLaughlin

Zito and McLaughlin have each won the race 3 times: Zito in 1994, 1995 and 2011; McLaughlin in 2005, 2014 and 2016.

At how many different distances has the Holy Bull been run?


The Holy Bull has been run at four different distances: 1 mile, 1 1/16 miles (current distance), 1 ⅛ miles, and 1 3/16 miles.

Who holds the stakes record at the current distance?

Go For Gin

Go For Gin set the stakes record in 1994, running the 1 1/16 race in 1:41.62

Previous Winners of the Holy Bull

2017Irish War CryJoel RosarioH. Graham MotionIsabelle de Tomaso
2016MohaymenJunior AlvaradoKiaran McLaughlinShadwell Stables
2015UpstartJose L. OrtizRichard A. Violette, Jr.Ralph M. Evans
2014Cairo PrinceLuis SaezKiaran McLaughlinNamcook Stables et al
2013ItsmyluckydayElvis TrujilloEddie Plesa Jr.Trilogy Stable/Plesa
2012AlgorithmsJavier CastellanoTodd PletcherStarlight Racing
2011Dialed InJulien LeparouxNick ZitoRobert V. LaPenta
2010Winslow HomerRamón DomínguezTony DutrowFox Hill Farms
2009Saratoga SinnerJulien LeparouxEddie KenneallyLally Stable
2008Hey ByrnChuck LopezEdward Plesa, Jr.Beatrice Oxenberg
2007Nobiz Like ShobizCornelio VelásquezBarclay TaggElizabeth J. Valando
2006BarbaroEdgar PradoMichael R. MatzRoy & Gretchen Jackson
2005Closing ArgumentCornelio VelásquezKiaran McLaughlinPhilip & Marcia Cohen
2004Second Of JuneCornelio VelásquezWilliam J. CesareBarbara Cesare
2003Offlee WildMark GuidryRichard Dutrow, Jr.Dorothy A. Matz
2002BookletEibar CoaJohn T. Ward, Jr.John C. Oxley
2001Radical RileyEduardo NúñezJames HatchettJacks or Better Farm
2000Hal's HopeRoger VelezHarold RoseRose Family Stable
1999Grits'n Hard ToastRobbie DavisT.V. SmithSmith/R. A. Anderson
1998Cape TownJerry D. BaileyD. Wayne LukasOverbrook Farm
1997Arthur L.John R. VelazquezLuis OlivaresNot found
1996Cobra KingChris McCarronMike PuypeGary Biszantz
1995Suave ProspectJerry D. BaileyNick ZitoCondren & M. H. Sherman
1994Go for GinJerry D. BaileyNick ZitoCondren & Cornacchia
1993Pride of BurkaanNot foundLeo AzpuruaJohnson & Murchibon
1992Waki WarriorEarlie FiresWilliam G. HuffmanStanley Lowenbraun
1991Shoot To KillNot foundLinda L. RiceNot found
1990Home At LastJerry D. BaileyCarl NafzgerReineman Stable
19801989 - No RacesNo RacesNo RacesNo Races
1979Northern ProspectJerry D. Bailey
1978No RaceNo RaceNo RaceNo Race
1977Smashing NativeDonald Brumfield
19751976 - No RacesNo RacesNo RacesNo Races
1974Real SupremeM. Miceli