Hyacinth Stakes

  • Location: Toyko Racecourse
  • Inaugural Race: 2003
  • Distance: 1,600 meters (about one mile)
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • 2018 Purse: 34,700,000 yen (about $307,000)
  • 2018 Race Date: Sunday, February 18th

2018 Hyacinth Stakes Entries and Results

1Taiki FerveurH.UchidaM.Makiura20.81.38.9
4Great TimeR.MooreH.Fujiwara51.39.2
8Dark RepulserK.TosakiT.Kanari8.21.39.4
6Meisho IsanaY.TakeK.Minai14.91.39.8
8Morino Last BossT.EdaS.Oehara3251.39.8
6Wakamiya OjiH.TanabeT.Kurita13.21.40.0
4Work and LoveY.IwataH.Tadokoro46.21.40.1
3Danke SchonN.YokoyamaM.Kon7.11.40.1
7Nishino Trans AmF.MinarikH.Mori119.91.40.2
3Neko WashiD.ShibataS.Hoshino109.91.40.2
1Ask Hard SpunC.LemaireH.Kawachi151.40.7
2Bahn FreiK.MiuraY.Yahagi121.21.40.7
2Meisho OpusH.MiyukiY.Iida5.51.40.8
5Vip RaisingD.MashimaK.Kozaki616.71.41.0

Recent Hyacinth Stakes News

Watch the 2018 Hyacinth Stakes

History of the Hyacinth Stakes

First run in 2003, the Hyacinth Stakes is the most important of Japan’s early dirt features for 3-year-olds. It carries Listed status, and its winners include the subsequent Japanese grade one dirt winners Success Brocken and Gold Dream.

In 2017 the Hyacinth Stakes was made one of the two races in the inaugural Japanese Road to the Kentucky Derby, and points were split on a 50-20-10-5, making it more important than the Cattleya Sho (40-16-8-4).

For the three-race 2018 series, however, it has become all-important. While the Cattleya Sho and the Zen-Nippon Nisai Yushun were both 10-4-2-1 races, the Hyacinth is a 30-12-6-3 race. This means the only way the Hyacinth Stakes winner will not automatically earn the Japanese berth in the Derby is if that horse gained no other points and another horse won both the other series races and finished second in the Hyacinth Stakes.

The 2017 winner Epicharis didn’t head to Churchill Downs, but he did finish second in the UAE Derby, and was set to run in the Belmont Stakes before being withdrawn due to injury. American viewers may well see future winners of this race on the First Saturday in May.