Jeff Ruby Steaks

  • Location: Turfway Park, Florence, KY
  • Inaugural Race: 1972
  • Current Distance: 1 1/8 miles
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • Status: Grade 3
  • 2020 Purse: $200,000
  • 2020 Race Date: Saturday, March 7th

2019 Jeff Ruby Steaks Entries and Results

10SomelikeithotbrownTyler GaffalioneMichael J. Maker$3.20$2.60$2.60
1Dynamic RacerEuclyn E. Prentice Jr.Ronald Kahles$20.20$11.80
2MoonsterJohn McKeeDale L. Romans$13.40
3Five Star GeneralDeclan CannonArnaud Delacour
4DaboLuan MachadoDale L. Romans
11Speed AppWalter De La CruzD. Wayne Lukas
7Counter OfferMalcolm FranklinIan R. Wilkes
6SkywireGary BoulangerMark E. Casse
9Curlin GreyBrian Joseph Hernandez, Jr.Kenneth G. McPeek
8TwelfthofneverlandSheldon RussellRaymond Handal
5Baytown JimboAlexis AchardPaul McEntee

Exotic Payoffs:

$2 Exacta (10-1) $54.60
$2 Trifecta (10-1-2) $1,186.20
$2 Superfecta (10-1-2-3) $6,351.60


Recent Jeff Ruby Steaks News

Watch the 2019 Jeff Ruby Stakes

Jeff Ruby Steaks History

The Jeff Ruby Steaks is the most important Derby prep race held on an artificial track. First held in 1972, the Turfway Park feature is always a good contest.
The race has been a part of the Road to the Kentucky Derby series since it began in 2013. However, for the 2018 edition it has become less valuable in that series, with the points available being downgraded from 50-20-10-5 for the first four home to 20-8-4-2. This means the winner is not guaranteed a start on the First Saturday in May, but one more good performance would probably be enough.

Though it was not an important Classic guide in its early years, the Jeff Ruby Steaks became very important for a four-year stretch in the early 1990s, when three of its victors – Summer Squall, Lil E. Tee, and Prairie Bayou – would go on to win Classics. Other notable winners were Broad Brush, Serena’s Song, Stephen Got Even, and Flower Alley.

Since Turfway Park was changed to an artificial track in 2006, the race has become less important as a Derby guide, though its winners include 2007 Derby third-place finisher Hard Spun and 2011 winner Animal Kingdom. None of the winners since Animal Kingdom have made a great impact on Derby day.

Jeff Ruby Steaks Trivia

How many winners of the Jeff Ruby Steaks have gone on to win the Kentucky Derby?


Kentucky Derby winners Animal Kingdom and Lil E. Tee each won the Jeff Ruby Steaks as they prepped for the Triple Crown races.

Who holds the record for most wins by a jockey?

Pat Day

Pat Day has won the Jeff Ruby Steaks 5 times, in 1984, 1987, 1989, 1990 and 1992.

Who holds the stakes record at 1 ⅛ miles?


Hansel, who won the Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes in 1991, holds the Jeff Ruby Steaks record of 1:46.60.

What is the record number of wins for a trainer?


William Adams has trained 7 winners, including three years in which the race was run in divisions and he trained the winner of each.

Previous Winners of the Jeff Ruby Steaks

2019SomelikeithotbrownTyler GaffalioneMichael J. MakerSkychai Racing LLC and Sand Dollar Stable LLC
2018Blended CitizenDoug F. O'NeillKyle FreyHall, Greg and Sayjay Racing, LLC
2017Fast and AccurateTyler GaffalioneMichael J. MakerKendall E. Hansen
2016Oscar NominatedBrian Joseph Hernandez, JrMichael J. MakerKenneth and Sarah Ramsey
2015Dubai SkyJose LezcanoWilliam I. MottThree Chimneys Farm and Besilu Stables
2014We Miss ArtieJohn R. VelazquezTodd PletcherKen and Sarah Ramsey
2013Black OnyxJoe BravoKelly BreenSterling Racing
2012Went the Day WellJohn VelazquezH. Graham MotionTeam Valor/Ford
2011Animal KingdomAlan GarciaH. Graham MotionTeam Valor
2010Dean's KittenCornelio VelasquezMichael J. MakerKen and Sarah Ramsey
2009Hold Me BackKent DesormeauxWilliam I. MottWinStar Farm
2008AdrianoEdgar PradoH. Graham MotionCourtlandt Farms
2007Hard SpunMario G. PinoJ. Larry JonesFox Hill Farms Inc.
2006With A CityBrice BlancMichael J.
2005Flower AlleyJorge ChavezTodd A. PletcherMelnyk Racing Stables
2004Sinister GPaul ToscanoJohn Toscano, Jr.John T. Toscano III et al.
2003New York HeroNorberto Arroyo, Jr.Jennifer PedersenParaneck Stable
2002Perfect DriftEd DelahoussayeMurray W. JohnsonStonecrest Farm
2001Balto StarMark GuidryTodd A. PletcherAnstu Stable
2000GlobalizeFrancisco TorresJerry HollendorferHoward Litt et al.
1999Stephen Got EvenShane SellersNick ZitoStephen Hilbert
1998Event of the YearRussell BazeJerry HollendorferGolden Eagle Farm
1997ConcertoCarlos Marquez, Jr.John J. Tammaro IIIKinsman Stable
1996RoarMike E. SmithC. R. McGaughey IIIClaiborne/Dilschneider
1995Serena's SongCorey NakataniD. Wayne LukasBob & Beverly Lewis
1994Polar ExpeditionCurt BourqueHugh H. RobertsonJames Cody
1993Prairie BayouChris McCarronThomas BohannanLoblolly Stable
1992Lil E. TeePat DayLynn S. WhitingW. Cal Partee
1991HanselJerry D. BaileyFrank L. BrothersLazy Lane Farm
1990Summer SquallPat DayNeil J. HowardDogwood Stable
1989Western PlayboyPat DayHarvey L. VanierNancy Vanier
1988KingpostEugene Sipus, Jr.Dianne CarpenterMark Warner
1987J. T.'s PetPat DayLynn S. WhitingW. Cal Partee
1986Broad BrushVince Bracciale, Jr.Richard W. SmallRobert E. Meyerhoff
1985Banner BobKeith AllenJerome Sarner, Jr.Sharon & W. J. Walsh
1984At The ThresholdPat DayLynn S. WhitingW. Cal Partee
1983MarfaJorge VelasquezD. Wayne LukasBeal/French, Jr./Lukas
1982Good N' DustyMichael MoranJasper AdamsLarry R. Lehman
1981Mythical RulerKevin WirthFred WirthPrice & Risen
1980Spruce NeedlesMark SellersWilliam E. AdamsGolden Chance Farm
1980Major RunMark SellersWilliam E. AdamsGolden Chance Farm
1979Lot O' GoldDon BrumfieldWilliam E. AdamsFrederick E. Lehmann
1978Raymond EarlJulio EspinozaWilliam E. AdamsRobert N. Lehmann
1978Five Star GeneralJulio EspinozaWilliam E. AdamsGolden Chance Farm
1977Bob's DustyJulio EspinozaWilliam E. AdamsRobert N. Lehmann
1977Smiley's DreamW. DestefonaWilliam E. AdamsGolden Chance Farm
1976Inca RocaWilliam NemetiA. T. SkinnerC. Jarrell
1975Ambassador's ImageE. SnellD. BallDonamire Farm
1975Naughty JakeGerman VasquezJake BachelorMildred Bachelor
1974King of RomeKeith WirthFred WirthFred Wirth
1974AgloriteKeith WirthFred WirthA. Risen Jr.
1973Jacks ChevronMickey SolomoneC. C. PatrickC. C. Patrick
1973Bootlegger's PetKerry WirthCarl SitgravesW. Hines/C. Sitgraves
1972Big DotJim MurchisonJames EckroshE. Lowrence