Lecomte Stakes

  • Location: Fair Grounds Race Course & Slots, New Orleans, LA
  • Inaugural Race: 1944
  • Distance: One mile, 70 yards
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • Status: Grade 3
  • 2020 Purse: $200,000
  • 2020 Race Date: Saturday, January 18th

2019 Lecomte Stakes Entries & Results

8War of WillTyler GaffalioneMark E. Casse$5.20$3.80$3.20
6Hog Creek HustleFlorent GerouxVickie L. Foley$10.00$6.00
13Manny WahChanning HillWayne M. Catalano$6.00
1Wicked IndeedBrian Joseph Hernandez, Jr.Steven M. Asmussen
12Plus Que ParfaitJulien R. LeparouxBrendan P. Walsh
10Chase the GhostCorey J. LanerieDallas Stewart
7RoilandJames GrahamThomas M. Amoss
5Night OpsEdgar MoralesJ. Keith Desormeaux
3TackettJoe BravoMichael Stidham
11Tight TenRicardo Santana, Jr.Steven M. Asmussen
2MalpaisAdam BeschizzaJoe Sharp
9Mo SpeedJerome LermyteMark E. Casse

Exotic Payoffs:

  • Exacta (8-6) Paid: $28.00
  • Trifecta (8-6-13) Paid: $87.00
  • Superfecta (8-6-13-1) Paid: $337.00

Recent Lecomte Stakes News

Watch the 2019 Lecomte Stakes

History of the Lecomte Stakes

Named after the 1850s racehorse Lecomte – who set a world record for four miles and who had a noted rivalry with the outstanding runner and sire Lexington – the Lecomte Stakes is the first of three races in Fair Grounds’ Kentucky Derby prep series for 3-year-olds.

It’s also part of the official Road to the Kentucky Derby series, by which horses earn points that qualify them for the Derby. The first four finishers are allotted points on a 10-4-2-1 basis.

The Lecomte Stakes has been won by several outstanding horses. Oxbow was victorious in the 2013 Lecomte and went on to win the Preakness Stakes and finish second in the Belmont Stakes. The high-quality 2007 Kentucky Derby runner-up Hard Spun is another Lecomte winner, as is the multiple grade one winner Ron the Greek and the 1972 Kentucky Derby runner-up No Le Hace.

Runners from the Lecomte Stakes frequently run in the other Fair Grounds Derby preps, the Risen Star Stakes (G2) and the Louisiana Derby (G2). Horses to have won all three races include International Star and Friesan Fire.


Lecomte Stakes Trivia

How many winners of the Lecomte have won a Triple Crown race?


Oxbow won the Lecomte in 2013 before winning the Preakness Stakes.

How many trainers have won the Lecomte multiple times?


Tom Amoss, Mike Maker, Steve Asmussen, Larry Jones and Dallas Stewart all have multiple wins in the Lecomte.

Which trainer has the most wins in the last 20 years of the Lecomte?

Tom Amoss and Larry Jones

Amoss and Jones each have three wins in the last 20 runnings of the Lecomte.

What year was the Lecomte NOT run?


The Lecomte was one of many races cancelled in 2006 as a result of the Hurricane Katrina devastation in the New Orleans area.

Past Winners of the Lecomte Stakes

2019War of WillTyler GaffalioneMark E. CasseGary Barber
2018Instilled RegardJerry HollendorferJavier J. CastellanoOXO Equine
2017Guest SuiteNeil J. HowardRobby J. AlbaradoW. S. Farish & Kilroy Thoroughbred Partnership
2016Mo TomCorey LanerieThomas M. AmossG M B Racing
2015International StarMiguel MenaMichael J. MakerKenneth and Sarah Ramsey
2014Vicar's In TroubleRosie NapravnikMike MakerKenneth and Sarah Ramsey
2013OxbowJon CourtD. Wayne LukasBluegrass Hall
2012Mr. BowlingRobby AlbaradoJ. Larry JonesBrereton Jones
2011WilkinsonGarrett K. GomezNeil J. HowardGaillardia Racing LLC
2010Ron the GreekJames GrahamThomas M. AmossJack T. Hammer
2009Friesan FireGabriel SaezJ. Larry JonesFox Hill Farms/Vinery
2008Z FortuneShaun BridgmohanSteve AsmussenZayat Stables
2007Hard SpunMario PinoJ. Larry JonesFox Hill Farms
2006no race
2005Storm SurgeRobby AlbaradoDallas StewartOverbrook Farm
2004Fire SlamShane SellersDavid M. CarrollStan Fulton
2003Saintly LookShane SellersDallas StewartWilliam A. Carl
2002EasyfromthegitgoDonnie MecheSteve AsmussenJ. Cassels/R. Zollars
2001Sam Lord's CastleRobby AlbaradoJosie CarrollEugene Melnyk
2000Noble RulerLarry MelanconNiall O'CallaghanFsim Racing Stables
1999Some ActorEddie Martin Jr.Thomas M. AmossJames McIngvale