Louisiana Derby

  • Location: Fair Grounds Race Course, New Orleans
  • Inaugural Race: 1894
  • Current Distance: 1 1/8 miles (9 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • Status: Grade 2
  • 2020 Purse: $1,000,000
  • 2020 Race Date: Saturday, March 21st

2019 Louisiana Entries and Results

5By My StandardsGabriel SaezW. Bret Calhoun$47.00$16.60
10SpinoffJohn R. VelazquezTodd A. Pletcher$6.80$5.40
4SuenoCorey J. LanerieJ. Keith Desormeaux$6.00
8Country HouseLuis SaezWilliam I. Mott
7Mr. MoneyAdam BeschizzaW. Bret Calhoun
1RoilandJames GrahamThomas M. Amoss
9BankitIrad Ortiz, Jr.Steven M. Asmussen
11Hog Creek HustleMiguel MenaVickie L. Foley
6War of WillTyler GaffalioneMark E. Casse
3LimoniteJose L. OrtizSteven M. Asmussen
2LemniscateBrian Joseph Hernandez, Jr.Kenneth G. McPeek

Exotic Payoffs:

$2 Exacta (5-10) $331.80
$2 Trifecta (5-10-4) $1,924.80
$2 Superfecta (5-10-4-8) $10,834.20


Recent Louisiana Derby News

Watch the 2019 Louisiana Derby

Louisiana Derby History

Founded in 1894, the Louisiana Derby is the culmination of the Fair Grounds series of three Kentucky Derby prep races. But with $1 million at stake, it’s a fine prize in its own right.

Once held eight weeks before the Kentucky Derby, it’s now held six weeks prior, possibly giving it more relevance to the Derby picture. It’s an integral part of the Road to the Kentucky Derby championship series, with the first four home earning points on a 100-40-20-10 basis. The winner will definitely get a start at Churchill Downs, and it’s highly likely the 40 points earned by the runner-up will be enough to earn a start.

Just three runners in the Fair Grounds feature have won the Run for the Roses: Black Gold (1924), Grindstone (1996), and Funny Cide (2003). Black Gold and Grindstone won the Louisiana Derby, while Funny Cide finished third, promoted to second with the disqualification of the winner.

Two Louisiana Derby winners went on to take the Preakness Stakes: Master Derby (1975) and Risen Star (1988), who also won the Belmont Stakes.
The best recent winner was Gun Runner (2016), who went on to finish third in the Kentucky Derby before a great 4-year-old campaign that culminated with victory in the Breeders’ Cup Classic.

The best guide for punters is the Risen Star Stakes at Fair Grounds the previous month. Three recent Louisiana Derby winners – Girvin, Gun Runner, and International Star – all won the Risen Star Stakes, while others to complete the double include Friesan Fire (2009), Pyro (2008), and Repent (2002).

Louisiana Derby Trivia

At how many different courses has the Louisiana Derby been run?


The Louisiana Derby has been held at Crescent City, Jefferson City and the Fair Grounds Race Course.

How many Louisiana Derby winners have also won the Kentucky Derby?


Just two horses to date have won both the Louisiana Derby and the Kentucky Derby: Black Gold in 1924 and Grindstone in 1996.

Which jockey holds the record for Louisiana Derby wins in the last 50 years?

Pay Day

Pat Day has won the Louisiana Derby 5 times, in 1986, 1987, 1991, 1992 and 1997.

At how many different distances has the Louisiana Derby been run?


Unlike many other old races, the Louisiana Derby has always been run at a distance exceeding a mile. It has been held at 1 1/16 miles and at its current distance of 9 furlongs.

Previous Winners of the Louisiana Derby

2019By My StandardsGabriel SaezW. Bret CalhounAllied Racing Stable, LLC
2018Noble IndyTodd A. PletcherJohn R. VelazquezWinStar Farm LLC and Repole Stable
2017GirvinBrian Joseph Hernandez, Jr.Joe SharpBrad Grady
2016Gun RunnerFlorent GerouxSteve AsmussenWinchell Thoroughbreds/Three Chimneys Farm
2015International StarMiguel MenaMichael MakerKenneth & Sarah Ramsey
2014Vicar's in TroubleRosie NapravnikMichael MakerKenneth L. and Sarah K. Ramsey
2013RevolutionaryJavier CastellanoTodd PletcherWinStar Farm
2012Hero of OrderEddie Martin Jr.Gennadi DorochenkoRaut LLC
2011Pants on FireRosie NapravnikKelly BreenGeorge & Lori Hall
2010Mission ImpazibleRajiv MaraghTodd A. PletcherTwin Creeks Rac.Stable
2009Friesan FireGabriel SaezJ. Larry JonesVinery St./Fox Hill Farm
2008PyroSh.BridgmohanSteve AsmussenWinchell Thoroughbreds
2007Circular QuayJohn R. VelazquezTodd A. PletcherMichael Tabor
2006No RaceNo RaceNo RaceNo Race
2005High LimitRamon DominguezRobert J. FrankelGary & Mary West
2004WimbledonJavier SantiagoBob BaffertJames McIngvale
2003Peace RulesEdgar PradoRobert J. FrankelEdmund A. Gann
2002RepentJerry D. BaileyKenneth McPeekSelect Stable
2001Fifty StarsDonnie MecheSteve AsmussenJ. Cassells / R. Zollars
2000MightyShane SellersFrank L. BrothersAspiration Stable
1999Kimberlite PipeRobby AlbaradoDallas StewartJ. D. Gunther
1998Comic StripShane SellersNeil J. HowardWilliam S. Farish III
1997Crypto StarPat DayWayne CatalanoDarrell & Evelyn Yates
1996GrindstoneJerry D. BaileyD. Wayne LukasOverbrook Farm
1995PetionvilleChris AntleyRandy BradshawEverest Stables
1994KandalyCraig PerretLouie J. Roussel IIILouie J. Roussel III
1993Dixieland HeatRandy RomeroGerald RomeroLeland Cook
1992Line In The SandPat DayNeil J. HowardWilliam S. Farish III
1991RichmanPat DayWilliam I. MottWilliam F. Lucas
1990Heaven AgainCorey NakataniVincent TimphonyK. Timphony et al.
1989DispersalJose SantosBud DelpHenry & Teresa Mayerhoff
1988Risen StarShane RomeroLouie J. Roussel IIIR. Lamarque/L. J. Roussel III
1987J. T.'s PetPat DayLynn S. WhitingW. Cal Partee
1986Country LightPat DaySteve C. PenrodCherry Valley Farm
1985VioladoJacinto VasquezWilliam E. BurchDue Process Stable
1984Taylor's SpecialSam MapleWilliam I. MottWilliam F. Lucas
1983Balboa NativeJorge VelasquezD. Wayne LukasRobert N. Spreen
1982El BabaDon BrumfieldDewey SmithDorothy Dorsett Brown
1981WoodchopperJorge VelasquezJohn M. Gaver, Jr.Greentree Stable
1980Prince ValiantMike A. GonzalezJohn M. Gaver, Jr.Greentree Stable
1979Golden ActSandy HawleyLoren RetteleW.Oldknow & R.Phipps
1978Esop's FoiblesChris McCarronLoren RetteleJerry Frankel
1977Clev Er TellRay BroussardHomer C. PardueJ. R. Straus & I. Proler
1976Johnny AppleseedMarco CastanedaJohn M. Gaver, Jr.Greentree Stable
1975Master DerbyDarrel McHargueSmiley AdamsGolden Chance Farm
1974SelloutMarco CastanedaNot FoundJean Pancoast
1973Leo's PiscesRobert BreenAbe SimoffJoseph Taub
1972No Le HacePhil RubbiccoHomer C. PardueJoseph W. Strauss