Risen Star Stakes

  • Location: Fair Grounds, New Orleans, LA
  • Inaugural Race: 1973
  • Current Distance: 1 1/16 miles
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • Status: Grade 2
  • 2018 Purse: $400,000
  • 2018 Race Date: Saturday, February 17th

2018 Risen Star Stakes Entries and Results

7BravazoMiguel MenaD. Wayne Lukas$44.00$15.40$7.80
4Snapper SinclairAdam BeschizzaSteven M. Asmussen$26.60$9.80
2Noble IndyJohn R. VelazquezTodd A. Pletcher$4.20
5Instilled RegardJavier CastellanoJerry Hollendorfer
1High NorthCorey J. LanerieBrad H. Cox
10EbbenGabriel SaezSteve Margolis
9Principe GuilhermeFlorent GerouxSteven M. Asmussen
3GivemeaminitShaun BridgmohanDallas Stewart
6Supreme AuraJoe BravoMichael Stidham

Exotic Payoffs:

  • $2 Exacta (7-4) $603.40
  • $2 Trifecta (7-4-2) $3,382.40
  • $2 Superfecta (7-4-2-5) $8,365.60

Recent Risen Star Stakes News

Watch the 2018 Risen Star Stakes

History of the Risen Star Stakes

First run in 1973 as the Louisiana Derby Trial, the race was renamed in 1989 in honor of the Louisiana-owned Risen Star, who won the race the year before en route to winning the Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes.

These days it’s the first race in the first leg of the Road to the Kentucky Derby Championship series. The first four home are given points on a 50-20-10-5 basis. The 50 points earned by the winner will almost certainly ensure they get a start in the Kentucky Derby.

Risen Star wasn’t the first winner to go on to Classic glory; 1975 winner Master Derby went on to win the Preakness Stakes, finish fourth in the Kentucky Derby, and second in the Belmont Stakes. None of the winners have since taken out a leg of the Triple Crown, though several proved to be very good horses, including Lawyer Ron, Pyro, Discreetly Mine, Mucho Macho Man, Gun Runner, and Girvin.

It’s also proven to be a great guide to the Louisiana Derby, with 13 horses completing the double since 1975: Girvin, Gun Runner, International Star, Friesan Fire, Pyro, Repent, Comic Strip, Dixieland Heat, Line in the Sand, Dispersal, Risen Star, Taylor’s Special, and Master Derby.

Risen Star Stakes Trivia

How many jockeys have won the race more than once?


Robby Albarado and Shane Romero have each won the race three times, and Javier Castellano and Shane Sellers have each won the race twice.

How many times has the Risen Star been run in divisions?


In 1995, 1993 and 1989, there were so many entries for the Risen Star that two divisions of the race were run each year.

How many winners of the Risen Star have won the Kentucky Derby?


Though many winners of the Risen Star have competed in the Kentucky Derby, and even hit the board, no horse has won both races – yet!

How many winners of the Risen Star have continued to win the Louisiana Derby?


Gun Runner, International Star, Friesan Fire, Pyro, Repent, Comic Strip, Dixieland Heat, Line in the Sand, Dispersal, and Risen Star.

Previous Winners of the Risen Star

2017GirvinBrian Joseph Hernandez, Jr.Joe SharpBrad Grady
2016Gun RunnerFlorent GerouxSteve AsmussenWinchell Thoroughbreds/Three Chimneys Farm
2015International StarMiguel MenaMichael J. MakerSarah & Ken Ramsey
2014Intense HolidayMike E. SmithJ. Larry JonesBrereton C. Jones
2013Ive Struck a NerveJames GrahamJ. Keith DesormeauxBig Chief Racing
2012El PadrinoJavier CastellanoTodd A. PletcherLet's Go Stable
2011Mucho Macho ManRajiv MaraghKatherine RitvoReeves Thoroughbred Racing/Dream Team Racing Stable
2010Discreetly MineJavier CastellanoTodd A. PletcherE. Paul Robsham Stables, LLC
2009Friesan FireGabriel SaezJ. Larry JonesFox Hill Farms/Vinery
2008PyroShaun BridgmohanSteve AsmussenWinchell Thoroughbreds
2007NotionalRobby AlbaradoDoug O'NeillJ. Paul Reddam
2006Lawyer RonJohn McKeeRobert E. HolthusJames T. Hines, Jr.
2005ScipionGary StevensPatrick L. BianconeVirginia Kraft Payson
2004GradepointRobby AlbaradoNeil J. HowardMt. Brilliant Stable/W. S. Farish
2003Badge of SilverRobby AlbaradoRonny WernerKen & Sarah Ramsey
2002RepentTony D'AmicoKenneth McPeekSelect Stable
2001Dollar BillChris McCarronDallas StewartGary & Mary West
2000Exchange RateCorey NakataniD. Wayne LukasPadua Stables
1999Ecton ParkShane SellersW. Elliott WaldenMark H. Stanley
1998Comic StripShane SellersNeil J. HowardElkins/Farish/Humphrey
1997Open ForumDonna BartonD. Wayne LukasBob & Beverly Lewis
1996Zarbs MagicE. J. PerrodinBret ThomasFoxwood Plantation
1995KnockadoonWillie MartinezAnthony ReinstedlerWilliam K. Warren, Jr.
1995Beavers NoseK. Bourque
1994Fly CryR. ArdoinAl Prats & Wayne Simpson
1993Dixieland HeatRandy RomeroGerald RomeroLeland Cook
1993Dry BeanAaron Gryder
1992Line in the SandShane RomeroLane's End Farm
1991Big CourageTammy Fox
1990Genuine MeaningJ. Hirdes
1989Nooo ProblemaShane Romero
1989DispersalB. Walker
1988Risen StarShane RomeroLouie Roussel IIILouie Roussel III
19871987 - Authentic Hero
19861986 - Dr Bee Jay
1984Taylors Special
1983Explosive Wagon
1981Senate Chairman
1979Incredible Ease
1977Run Dusty Run
1975Master Derby
1974Heavy Mayonnaise