Sam F. Davis Stakes

  • Location: Tampa Bay Downs, Tampa Bay, FL
  • Inaugural Race: 1981
  • Current Distance: 1 1/16 miles
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • Status: Grade 3
  • 2020 Purse: $250,000
  • 2020 Race Date: Sunday, February 9th


2019 Sam F. Davis Stakes Entries and Results

9Well DefinedPablo MoralesKathleen O'Connell$16.00$7.60$4.60
6Kentucky WildcatJoe BravoThomas Albertrani$4.60$3.20
8So AliveJavier CastellanoTodd A. Pletcher$3.40
1Counter OfferAntonio A. GallardoIan R. Wilkes
3Knicks GoAlbin JimenezBen Colebrook
7Five Star GeneralJose L. OrtizArnaud Delacour
10Still DreamingJorge A. Vargas, Jr.H. Graham Motion
5MoonsterSamy CamachoDale L. Romans
2Going for GoldJose A. BrachoRobert B. Hess, Jr.

Exotic Payoffs:

$2 Exacta (9-6) $76.00
$2 Trifecta (9-6-8) $284.20
$2 Superfecta (9-6-8-1) $1,696.80


Recent Sam F. Davis Stakes News

Watch the 2018 Sam F. Davis Stakes

History of the Sam F. Davis Stakes

First run in 1981, the Sam F. Davis Stakes has attracted better quality fields as the years have gone by. It was upgraded to grade three status in 2009, and since 2017 it has been part of the Road to the Kentucky Derby series. The first four finishers are granted points on a 10-4-2-1 basis.

Among the winners of the Sam F. Davis Stakes that helped it improve its status were Bluegrass Cat (subsequently runner-up in the Kentucky Derby), grade one winner Any Given Saturday, and Belmont Stakes runner-up Destin.

The Sam F. Davis Stakes is also an important lead-up to the Tampa Bay Derby, held a few weeks later. Destin was the last to complete the double in 2016; others to do so were Phantom Jet (1987), Speedy Cure (1991), Marco Bay (1993), Thundering Storm (1996) and Burning Roma (2001).

Sam F. Davis Stakes Trivia

Who holds the record for the fastest running of the Sam F. Davis?

General Quarters

General Quarters covered the 1 1/16 miles of the Sam F. Davis in 1:43.54 in 2009

Which trainer holds the record for most wins in the Sam F. Davis?

Todd Pletcher

Pletcher has won the race 6 times, in 2016, 2014, 2011, 2010, 2007 and 2006.

How many winners of the Sam F. Davis have returned to win the Tampa Bay Derby?


Phantom Jet (1987), Speedy Cure (1991), Marco Bay (1993), Thundering Storm (1996) and Burning Roma (2001), and Destin (2016) have all won the Sam F. Davis and the Tampa Bay Derby.

Which jockey has won the race more than any other jockey?

John Velazquez

John Velazquez has won the race 3 times: 2016, 2010 and 2006.

Previous Winners of the Sam F. Davis

2019Well DefinedPablo MoralesKathleen O'ConnellStonehedge LLC
2018FlameawayJose LezcanoMark E. CasseJohn C. Oxley
2017McCrakenBrian Hernandez, Jr.Ian R. WilkesWhitham Thoroughbreds, LLC
2016DestinJohn VelazquezTodd PletcherTwin Creeks Racing Stables
2015Ocean KnightIrad Ortiz Jr.Kiaran McLaughlinStonestreet Stables
2014VinceremosEdgar S. PradoTodd PletcherWinStar Farm/Twin Creeks Racing Stables
2013Falling SkyJose L. EspinozaJohn P. TerranovaNewtown Anner Stud
2012Battle HardenedJulien LeparouxEddie KenneallyMichael Tabor & Mrs. John Magnier
2011BrethrenRamon DominguezTodd PletcherWinStar Farm
2010RuleJohn VelazquezTodd PletcherWinStar Farm
2009General QuartersJames LopezMark L. MillerThomas R. McCarthy
2008Fierce WindCornelio VelasquezNick ZitoFour Roses Thoroughbreds
2007Any Given SaturdayGarrett GomezTodd A. PletcherWinstar & Padua
2006Bluegrass CatJohn R. VelazquezTodd A. PletcherWinStar Farm
2005Andromeda's HeroRafael BejaranoNick ZitoRobert V. LaPenta
2004Kaufy MateRamsey ZimmermanKirk ZiadieGregory Kaufman
2003White BuckRoger VelezJerry ParadiseOlga Paradise
2002Bunk N TedDerek BellKenny WirthReal Deal Racing
2001Burning RomaJuan UmanaHeather A. GiglioHarold L. Queen
2000Go Lib GoRobert C. LandryKenneth McPeekRaymond Cottrell
1999San GennaroPedro RodriguezRichard J. Ciardullo, Jr.Richard J. Ciardullo, Sr.
1998Dabney CarrKevin WhitleyElizabeth Zemp-EverardMy Jolee Stable/Everard
1997Wilt the TiltLuis GonzalezCyndi SmithMichael Smith
1996Thundering StormJorge GuerraDon R. RiceDeborrah Artz
1995AkibaSantos ChavezHubert HineScott Savin
1994Parental PressureJack M. LauzonFred H. LoschkeHammer Kopf Farm et al.
1993Marco BayRonnie Allen, Jr.Sarah A. LundyJay Shaw
1992RandyHerson SanchezAngel RosadoMartin Haft
1991Speedy CureRicardo LopezHarvey CulpSusan B. Fisher
1990Fiery Best
1989Papa Leonard
1988House Account
1987Phantom Jet
1986Fellow's Lady
1985Tamao's Gray
1984Morning Bob
1983D. White
1981Tampa Bay Buck
1980Croziers Ace