Sham Stakes

  • Location: Santa Anita Park, Arcadia, CA
  • Inaugural Race: 2001
  • Distance: One mile
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • Status: Grade 3
  • 2020 Purse: $100,000
  • 2020 Race Date: Saturday, January 4th

Recent Sham Stakes News

2019 Sham Stakes Entries & Results

6Gunmetal GrayMike E. SmithJerry Hollendorfer$9.40$4.80$3.40
1SuenoKent J. DesormeauxJ. Keith Desormeaux$9.60$5.20
7Much BetterDrayden Van DykeBob Baffert$5.00
2Gray MagicianFlavien PratPeter Miller
4Easy ShotRafael BejaranoJ. Keith Desormeaux
5ColiseumJoseph TalamoBob Baffert
3SavageryHeriberto FigueroaPeter Miller

Exotic Payoffs:

  • Exacta (6-1) Paid: $45.00
  • Trifecta (6-1-7) Paid: $106.00
  • Superfecta (6-1-7-2) Paid: $59.00

Watch the 2019 Sham Stakes

History of the Sham Stakes

The $100,000 Sham Stakes the first West Coast, 3-year-old, race of the year in which points on the Road to the Kentucky Derby table are available. The first four finishers earn points on a 10-4-2-1 basis.

Though it was originally held at 1 ⅛ miles, the current distance is just one mile. The Sham Stakes was first run in 2001 in early February. It was held in early March for three years, before moving to its current early January position in 2011.

The 2017 running of the Sham was won by Gormley, winner of the FrontRunner Stakes. Gormley narrowly defeated American Anthem in the stretch as the two matched stride for stride to the wire, leaving the rest of the field 12 lengths back over a sloppy, sealed Santa Anita track. If the silks look familiar, Gormley is owned by Ann and Jerry Moss, owners of the champion Zenyatta.

The race was named for the Thoroughbred racehorse Sham, who shadowed Secretariat during the Triple Crown season in 1973. Sham won the Santa Anita Derby that year and was second in the Kentucky Derby. His time in the Kentucky Derby is the fourth fastest in history (behind Secretariat, Monarchos, and Northern Dancer). Considering that timing in the 1970s is less precise than today, it is possible that Sham ran the second-fastest time in the Derby ever, even as a second-place finisher.

No winner of the Sham Stakes has gone on to win the Kentucky Derby as yet. However, several outstanding horses have won the race – they include two Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile (G1) winners, Tapizar and Goldencents, the multiple grade one winners Colonel John and Gormley, and the 2017 Breeders’ Cup Classic (G1) runner-up Collected.

Sham Stakes Trivia

How many jockeys have won the Sham more than once?


Alex Solis (4), Garrett Gomez (4), Victor Espinoza (3) and Mike E. Smith (2) are the only jockeys with multiple wins in the Sham.

Which trainer holds the record for most wins in the Sham?

Bob Baffert

Baffert has won the Sham a record 4 times: in 2001, 2006, 2014, and 2016.

At how many different distances has the Sham been held?


The Sham started as a 1 ⅛, was held at a 1 1/16 for one year, and is now contested at one mile.

When was the first running of the Sham Stakes?


The Sham is one of the more recent Kentucky Derby preps, first run in just 2001.

Past Winners of the Sham Stakes

2019Gunmetal GrayMike E. SmithJerry HollendorferHollendorfer, LLC, Pearl Racing and West Point Thoroughbreds
2018McKinzieMike E. SmithBob BaffertKarl Watson/Michael E. Pegram/Paul Weitman
2017GormleyVictor EspinozaJohn ShirreffsAnn and Jerry Moss
2016CollectedMartin GarciaBob BaffertSpeedway Stable
2015CalculatorElvis TrujilloPeter MillerRichard C. Pell
2014Midnight HawkMike E. SmithBob BaffertHill 'n' Dale/Sikura/Pegram et al
2013GoldencentsKevin KriggerDoug F. O'NeillW.C. Racing/Kenney/RAP Racing
2012Out of BoundsGarrett GomezEoin HartyDarley Stud
2011TapizarGarrett GomezSteve AsmussenWinchell Thoroughbreds LLC
2010Alphie's BetAlex SolisAlexis BarbaPeter Johnson Sr
2009The PamplemousseAlex SolisJulio C. CananiAlex Solis II/Jeffrey Strauss
2008Colonel JohnGarrett GomezEoin G. HartyWinStar Farm LLC
2007RavelGarrett GomezMichael McCarthyMichael Tabor/Derrick Smith
2006Bob and JohnVictor EspinozaBob BaffertStonerside Stable
2005Going WildVictor EspinozaD. Wayne LukasBob & Beverly Lewis
2004Master DavidAlex SolisRobert J. FrankelGeorgica Stable et al.
2003Man Among MenAlex SolisGary MandellaHubbard and Sczesny
2002USS TinosaKent DesormeauxJerry HollendorferAbruzzo & Thiriot
2001Wild and WiseVictor EspinozaBob BaffertGolden Eagle Farm