UAE Derby

  • Location: Meydan Racecourse, Dubai
  • Inaugural Race: 2000
  • Current Distance: 9.5 Furlongs
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: 3-year-olds from the Northern & 4-year-olds from the Southern Hemisphere
  • Status: Grade 2
  • 2020 Purse: $2,500,000
  • 2020 Race Date: Saturday, March 28th

2019 UAE Derby Entries and Results

Plus Que ParfaitJose L. OrtizBrandon Walsh$19.60$7.00$6.40
Gray Magician
Joel Rosario
Peter Miller$8.00
Fernando JaraAli Rashid Al-Rayhi
Derma Louvre
Christophe Patrice Lemaire
Hirofumi Toda
Swift RosePatrick J. CosgraveSaeed bin Suroor
Flavien PratDoug F. O'Neill
1Walking Thunder
Frankie DettoriAhmad bin Harmash

Connor Beasley
Ahmad bin Harmash
Van Beethoven
Ryan MooreAidan P. O'Brien
9RazeenaPat DobbsDoug Watson
2JahbathJim CrowleyWilliam J. Haggas
10Al HayetteFabrice VeronIsmail Mohammed
6Divine ImageWilliam T. BuickCharlie Appleby
3Golden JaguarOisin MurphyAhmad bin Harmash

Exotic Payoffs:

  • $2.00 EXACTA (4-8) Paid: $182.60
  • $2.00 TRIFECTA (4-8-14) Paid: $4,345.40
  • $2.00 SUPERFECTA (4-8-14-5) Paid: $133,173.60

Recent UAE Derby News

Watch the 2019 UAE Derby

UAE Derby

At $2.5 million, the UAE Derby is the richest race in the Road to the Kentucky Derby series, and the only one of the main series held outside the United States. It’s one of the most important in terms of qualifying as well, with the first four getting points on a 100-40-20-10 basis. That means the winner will certainly earn a start in the Derby, and it’s likely the second-place horse will earn enough points as well.

There is one proviso: the race is open to southern hemisphere-bred 3-year-olds, who are about six months older than their northern hemisphere counterparts and thus not eligible for the Kentucky Derby. So if they finish in points-earning positions ahead of their northern hemisphere-bred opponents, the points won’t count towards the First Saturday in May.

The inaugural UAE Derby winner China Visit finished sixth in the 2000 Kentucky Derby, but no subsequent winner of the UAE Derby has finished any closer at Churchill Downs. However, horses like Discreet Cat, Toast of New York, and Mubtaahij distinguished themselves in the U.S later in their careers, and Lani subsequently finished third in the Belmont Stakes.

The best performance by a UAE Derby runner came from 2011 runner-up Master of Hounds, who finished fifth in 2011. Two of the UAE Derby winners that started at Churchill Downs – Daddy Long Legs and Thunder Snow – failed to finish, with the latter refusing to join the race in 2017.
The race has been dominated by Godolphin’s Saeed bin Suroor, who has won the race eight times, and by South African trainer Mike de Kock, who has won it six times. Ireland’s Aidan O’Brien has won it twice, while other victories have gone to Britain’s Jamie Osborne (Toast of New York) and Japan’s Mikio Matsunaga (Lani).

UAE Derby Trivia

How many winners of the UAE Derby have gone on to a Triple Crown race?


So far, no UAE Derby winners have won a Triple Crown race, but several, such as Lani and Mubtaahij, were competitive runners in those races.

Which owner hold the record for the most wins in the UAE Derby?

Godolphin Racing

Godolphin has won the UAE Derby 8 times, in 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2011, and 2017.

How many jockeys have won the race more than once?


Frankie Dettori (2002, 2006) and Weichong Marwin (2004, 2007) have each won the UAE Derby twice.

What is the record number of UAE Derby wins by a trainer?


Saeed bin Suroor has trained seven winners of the UAE Derby, in 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006, 2009 and 2011.

Previous Winners of the UAE Derby

2019Plus Que ParfaitJose L. OrtizBrandon WalshImperial Racing LLC
2018MendelssohnRyan MooreAidan O'BrienDerrick Smith, Magnier & Tabor
2017Thunder SnowS. SuroorC. SoumillonGodolphin Racing
2016LaniYutaka TakeMikio MatsunagaYoko Maeda
2015MubtaahijChristophe SoumillonMike de KockMohammed bin Khalifa Al Maktoum
2014Toast of New YorkJamie SpencerJamie OsborneMichael Buckley
2013Lines of Battle*Ryan MooreAidan O'BrienTabor/Magnier/Smith
2012Daddy Long LegsColm O'DonoghueAidan O'BrienTabor/Magnier/Smith
2011KhawlahMickael BarzalonaSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing
2010MusirChristophe SoumillonMike de KockMohammed bin Khalifa Al Maktoum
2009Regal RansomAlan GarciaSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing
2008Honour DevilJohnny MurtaghMike de KockSheikh M. bin Khalifa
2007Asiatic BoyWeichong MarwingMike de KockSheikh M. bin Khalifa
2006Discreet CatFrankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing
2005Blues and RoyalsKerrin McEvoySaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing
2004Lundy's LiabilityWeichong MarwingMike de KockStud TNT & Mary Slack
2003Victory MoonWayne SmithMike de KockMad Syndicate
2002Essence of DubaiFrankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing
2001Express TourDavid R. FloresSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing
2000China VisitRichard HillsSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing