Wood Memorial

  • Location: Aqueduct Racecourse, New York
  • Inaugural Race: 1925
  • Current Distance: 1 1/8 miles (9 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-olds
  • Status: Grade 2
  • 2020 Purse: $1,000,000
  • 2020 Race Date: Saturday, April 4th

2019 Wood Memorial Entries and Results

2TacitusJose L. OrtizWilliam I. Mott$7.20$4.70$3.00
1TaxJunior AlvaradoDanny Gargan$6.20$3.90
4HaikalRajiv MaraghKiaran P. McLaughlin$3.10
9Math WizardEric CancelSaffie A. Joseph, Jr.
7Not That BradyReylu GutierrezRudy R. Rodriguez
5Final JeopardyManuel FrancoJason Servis
3Hoffa's UnionDylan DavisMark E. Casse
8Grumps Little TotsJose LezcanoJason Servis
10OutshineJohn R. VelazquezTodd A. Pletcher
6OverdeliverKendrick CarmoucheTodd A. Pletcher
11JoeviaNik JuarezGregory D. Sacco

Exotic Payoffs:

$2 Exacta (2-1) $45.80
$2 Trifecta (2-1-4) $133.00
$2 Superfecta (2-1-4-9) $3,700.00

Recent Wood Memorial News

  • BARN Podcast 4/8/19 (4/7/2019) - We look back at a huge racing weekend including Blue Grass Stakes day at Keeneland, Wood Memorial at Aqueduct, and the Santa Anita Derby at… ...Read More
  • Tacitus winning the Wood Memorial (gr. II) at Aqueduct - © NYRA/Coglianese Photography Tacitus Prevails in Roughly-Run Wood Memorial (4/7/2019) - In one of the roughest races seen on the Road to the Kentucky Derby this winter, favored Tacitus emerged from a battle-weary field to win… ...Read More
  • Tacitus winning the Tampa Bay Derby (gr. II) - Photo by SV Photography How to Bet the 2019 Wood Memorial (4/4/2019) - There are plenty of promising and accomplished runners to consider in Saturday’s $750,000 Wood Memorial Stakes (gr. II) at Aqueduct, 1 1/8-mile Road to the… ...Read More
  • BARN Podcast 4/4/19 (4/3/2019) - It's Horseplayer Thursday and we're talking all about the big races coming up this weekend. Keeneland has huge fields all weekend and we'll discuss the… ...Read More
  • BARN Podcast 4/3/19 (4/2/2019) - We look ahead to Keeneland's opening day card and welcome in NYRA and TimeformUS analyst David Aragona to talk about Wood Memorial week, handicapping NYRA,… ...Read More

Watch the 2019 Wood Memorial

Wood Memorial History

Held since 1925, the Wood Memorial at Aqueduct is the culmination of the New York early season 3-year-old races.

It’s also one of the key lead-up races in the Road to the Kentucky Derby series. It’s one of three major races held four weeks prior to the Derby – the others are the Blue Grass Stakes and the Santa Anita Derby – and like those races, the first four finishers get points in the series on a 100-40-20-10 basis. It means the winner will definitely get a place in the Kentucky Derby field, and most likely the runner-up as well.

The Wood Memorial has historically been one of the most important Derby lead-ups. There have been 20 Kentucky Derby winners that used the Wood Memorial as a lead-up, 11 of which won both races. Six of the nation’s Triple Crown winners contested the Wood Memorial; interestingly, two of them – Omaha and Secretariat – failed to win at Aqueduct, both finishing third.

No Wood Memorial winner has won the Kentucky Derby since Fusaichi Pegasus in 2000, however, and the most recent Kentucky Derby winner to run in the Wood Memorial was Funny Cide, second at Aqueduct in 2003.

In recent years, the Wood Memorial has invariably been won by a horse that didn’t contest the other New York preps and have instead come from sunnier climates, especially Florida. Punters should look very carefully at the runners that have shipped in for the race.

Wood Memorial Trivia

Fastest Time

Private Terms – 1988 (Aqueduct only)

Most Wins by a Jockey

Eddie Arcaro 

Most Wins by a Trainer

Sunny Jim Fitzsimmons

Most Wins by an Owner

Tied: Belair Stable, Wheatley Stable, Greentree Stable, Cornelius Vanderbilt Whitney

Previous Winners of the Wood Memorial

2019TacitusJose L. OrtizWilliam I. MottJuddmonte Farms, Inc.
2018Vino RossoTodd A. PletcherJohn R. VelazquezRepole Stable and St. Elias Stable
2017Irish War Cry Rajiv MaraghH. Graham MotionIsabelle de Tomaso
2016 OutworkJohn VelazquezTodd PletcherRepole Stable
2015American PharoahVictor EspinozaBob BaffertZayat Stables, LLC
2014Wicked StrongRajiv MaraghJames JerkensCentennial Farms
2013VerrazanoJohn VelazquezTodd A. PletcherLet's Go Stables
2012GemologistJavier CastellanoTodd PletcherWinStar Farm
2011Toby's CornerEddie CastroH. Graham MotionDianne Cotter
2010EskendereyaJohn VelazquezTodd A. PletcherZayat Stables
2009I Want RevengeJoseph TalamoJeff Mullins
2008Tale of EkatiEdgar PradoBarclay TaggCharles E. Fipke
2007Nobiz Like ShobizCornelio VelasquezBarclay TaggElizabeth J. Valando
2006Bob and JohnGarrett GomezBob BaffertStonerside Stable
2005Bellamy RoadJavier CastellanoNick ZitoKinsman Stable
2004TapitRamon A. DominguezMichael W. DickinsonRonald Winchell
2003Empire MakerJerry BaileyRobert J. FrankelJuddmonte Farms
2002BuddhaPat DayH. James BondGary and Mary West
2001CongareeVictor EspinozaBob BaffertStonerside Stable
2000Fusaichi PegasusKent DesormeauxNeil D. DrysdaleFusao Sekiguchi
1999AdonisJorge ChavezNick ZitoParaneck Stable
1998Coronado's QuestRobbie DavisC. R. McGaughey IIIStuart S. Janney III
1997Captain BodgitAlex SolisGary CapuanoTeam Valor
1996Unbridled's SongMike E. SmithJames T. RyersonParaneck Stable
1995Talkin ManShane SellersRoger AttfieldKinghaven Farms
1994IrgunGary StevensSteven W. YoungB.& M. Chase
1993Storm TowerRick WilsonBen W. Perkins, Jr.Char-Mari Stable
1992Devil His DueMike E. SmithH. Allen JerkensLion Crest Stable
1991Cahill RoadCraig PerretScotty SchulhoferFrances A. Genter
1990Thirty Six RedMike E. SmithNick ZitoB. Giles Brophy
1989Easy GoerPat DayC. R. McGaughey IIIOgden Phipps
1988Private TermsChris AntleyCharles HadryLocust Hill Farm
1987GulchJose SantosLeRoy JolleyPeter M. Brant
1986Broad BrushVincent Bracciale, Jr.Richard W. SmallRobert E. Meyerhoff
1985Eternal PrinceRichard MiglioreJohn J. Lenzini, Jr.Brian J. Hurst
1984Leroy S.Jean CruguetJan NerudJohn A. Nerud
1983Bounding BasqueGregg McCarronWoody SedlacekJacques Wimpfheimer
1983Slew o' GoldEddie MapleSidney Watters, Jr.Equusequity Stable
1982Air Forbes WonAngel Cordero, Jr.Frank LaBoccettaEdward Anchel
1981Pleasant ColonyJeffrey FellJohn P. CampoBuckland Farm
1980Plugged NickleBuck ThornburgThomas J. KellyJohn M. Schiff