NFL quarter-season awards: MVP, OPOY, DPOY & more

Profile Picture: Jeremy Jones

October 9th, 2019

Now that every team in the league has played at least four games, we have reached the the quarter point of the NFL season. There have been some surprises and some upsets but also some expected results. There is still a long way to go, but if the season were to suddenly get called off today, here is who would win each end-of-season award.

MVP: Russell Wilson

There are three leading candidates for MVP through 25% of the regular seasonRussell Wilson, Patrick Mahomes and Christian McCaffrey. Wilson has stood out just slightly more in his five games. The Seahawks quarterback is averaging 281.8 passing yards and 24 rushing per game. Wilson also has 12 passing touchdowns to zero interceptions, along with two rushing touchdowns to only one lost fumble.

The five-time Pro Bowler has led his team to a 4-1 start and the Seahawks are now +2650 to win the Super Bowl. He leads the league with a passer rating of 126.3, 10.4 points ahead of Deshaun Watson in second place. Wilson also has the second-best completion percentage at 73.3%. That is 7.7% higher than reigning MVP Patrick Mahomes. As long as he continues to make passes like this one to Tyler Lockett, you cannot deny this man the MVP.

Offensive Player of the Year: Christian McCaffrey

Since the MVP award always seems to find itself in the hands of a quarterback, the special running back seasons tend to get this award. Like Todd Gurley (2017), DeMarco Murray (2014) and Adrian Peterson (2012), you have McCaffrey in 2019. Run CMC is getting high usage (27.4 touches per game), and while some of that may be because of Cam Newton's injury, he still averaged 23.5 touches in the two games with Newton.

The Panthers running back has converted that usage into production. McCaffrey is averaging 117.4 rushing yards per game and 55.8 receiving yards per game. He also has seven total touchdowns. He is on pace for 2,771 total yards and 23 total touchdowns. You can currently snag McCaffrey at +300 to finish the season with the most rushing yards.

Defensive Player of the Year: Shaquil Barrett

The Tampa Bay linebacker has stood out among a list of defensive studs this season. Barrett has accumulated nine sacks, seven tackles for loss, three forced fumbles and an interception in only five games. Barrett is keeping an otherwise dismal defense in games, and the Buccaneers have stayed relevant because of his impact. He is on pace to shatter the sacks record and deserves this award.

Offensive Rookie of the Year: Josh Jacobs

The Oakland Raiders first-round pick is currently sixth in rushing (430 yards). He is also tied for sixth in rushing touchdowns (four). The Raiders are 3-0 when Jacobs gets at least 15 carries, which includes consecutive wins over the Bears and Colts, both likely playoff teams. After his production against the vaunted Bears defense, he deserves all the accolades.

Defensive Rookie of the Year: Brian Burns

The Carolina Panthers edge rusher has been a terror to offensive lines this season. The first-round pick has 3 1/2 sacks, 14 tackles, two for loss, a forced fumble and a recovered fumble for a touchdown. Burns reminds many Panthers fan of former standout Julius Peppers.

Coach of the Year: Sean McDermott

The Buffalo Bills head coach has this team rolling at 4-1 and has a favorable schedule coming up. He has even had to deal with injuries and upset players. He lost sensational rookie Devin Singletary after two games and he had to deal with trading a young prospect at wide receiver in Zay Jones. McDermott has the Bills defense ranked third in scoring, despite a negative-3 turnover differential. The only loss was a close game to the Patriots, who have destroyed every other opponent.

The NFL regular season may be 25% complete, but that means there's still plenty of time to wager on games and futures at BetAmerica!