American Pharoah Stakes (FrontRunner Stakes)

  • Location: Santa Anita Park, Arcadia, CA
  • Inaugural Race: 1970
  • Distance: 1 and 1/16th of a mile (8.5 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Two Year Olds
  • 2019 Purse: $300,000
  • 2019 Race Date: Friday, September 27th

The American Pharoah Stakes reflects the name sake of 21st century Triple Crown hero American Pharoah. Formerly named the FrontRunner Stakes and Norfolk Stakes until bestowing the drought quenching effort of American Pharoah. The race is both a member of the Breeders' Cup prep-race series and Road to the Kentucky Derby points series.


2019 American Pharoah Stakes Entries and Results

Up ArrowDown Arrow
Up ArrowDown Arrow
Up ArrowDown Arrow
Up ArrowDown Arrow
Up ArrowDown Arrow
Up ArrowDown Arrow
Up ArrowDown Arrow
Eight Rings
John R. Velazquez
Bob Baffert
American Theorem
Tiago Josue Pereira
George Papaprodromou
Storm the Court
Flavien Prat
Peter Eurton
Express Train
Mike E. Smith
John A. Shirreffs
Joel Rosario
Steven M. Asmussen
Defense Wins
Rafael Bejarano
Doug F. O'Neill
Fore Left
Mario Gutierrez
Doug F. O'Neill
Norberto Arroyo, Jr.
Peter Miller
Collusion Illusion
Joseph Talamo
Mark Glatt


Exotic Payouts

  • Exacta (3-1) Paid: $12
  • Trifecta (3-1-5) Paid: $66
  • Superfecta (3-1-5-4) Paid: $53

Watch the 2019 American Pharoah Stakes


The History of the American Pharoah Stakes

The American Pharoah Stakes is a Grade I race run each year at the Santa Anita Park.

Originally staged by the Oak Tree Racing Association and first known as the Norfolk Stakes, the race was later renamed the FrontRunner Stakes – after a popular area at Santa Anita racecourse – when Oak Tree lost the lease to race at Santa Anita. The race is now named for Triple Crown winner American Pharaoh and is a part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge Series, allowing the winner to race in the Breeders' Cup Juvenile.

The race has been a part of the Road to the Kentucky Derby series since the series was formed. Points on the table are awarded to the first four runners on a 10-4-2-1 basis. Triple Crown winner American Pharoah won the race in 2014, while others to win Classics the following year include Snow Chief, Lookin At Lucky, and Nyquist.

It’s also a Breeders’ Cup Challenge race, providing automatic entry for the winner to the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile. Two of the first three BC Juvenile winners – Chief’s Crown (1984) and Capote (1986) won this race, but only Nyquist (2015) has completed the double since.

Trainer Bob Baffert has won the race seven of the past 21 years, while Alex Solis was aboard the winner seven times – none of them on Baffert runners.

Road to the Kentucky Derby prep-race list