The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes: Race History & Key Facts

  • Location: Pimlico Race Course
  • Inaugural Race: 1919
  • Distance: 1 & 1/8 miles (9 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Three-year-old fillies
  • 2015 Purse: $500,000
Photo of the Pimlico Race Course, where The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes in run annually

Video of the 2014 Black-Eyed Susan Stakes

Check out footage of the 2014 running of the Black Eyed Susan Stakes, where jockey Javier Castellano rode Stopchargingmaria to a first place finish!

A Brief History of the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes

The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes race is hosted annually at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland. The race dates back to 1919 and was given graded stakes status in 1973.

Today, the Grade 2, three-year-old filly race covers a distance of 1 & 1/8th miles, with a purse of $500,000. Milkmaid was the first winner in 1973 and went on to earn United States Champion 3-Yr-Old Filly Honors. In fact, twenty three fillies that won the Black-Eyed Susan went on to be named a Champion.

The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes is a counterpart to the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing alongside the Kentucky Oaks and the Acorn Stakes. These races are often unofficially referred to as the “Filly Triple Crown”. Officially, the “Filly Triple Crown” is known as the Triple Tiara of Thoroughbred Racing and consists of  three races held at Belmont Park and Saratoga Race Course in New York. Recently, there has been talk among officials to change the Triple Tiara Series to include the Black-Eyed Susan, the Kentucky Oaks and the Mother Goose Stakes.

Davona Dale is the only filly to win the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes, Kentucky Oaks, Acorn Stakes, Mother Goose Stakes, and Coaching Club American Oaks. The only Black-Eyed Susan winner to also win the Preakness Stakes is Nillie Morse.

Other notable entries into the race include Royal Delta, Serena’s Song, Office Queen, Airman’s Guide, and Real Delight.


Black-Eyed Susan Stakes – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records & results for the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes:

Speed record

Silverbulletday – 1999

Most Wins by a Jockey

Chris McCarron (1976, 1985, 1986, 1992) & John Velazquez (1998, 2003, 2005, 2012)

Most Wins by a Trainer

D. Wayne Lukas (1984, 1986, 1989, 1995)

Historical Results for the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes

In the table below, view a records of the winning trainers, thoroughbreds, jockeys, and times for every Kentucky Oaks race.

2014StopchargingmariaJavier CastellanoTodd Pletcher
2013FiftyshadesofhayJoel RosarioBob Baffert
2012In LingerieJohn VelazquezTodd Pletcher
2011Royal DeltaJose LezcanoWilliam I. Mott
2010Acting HappyJose LezcanoRichard Dutrow
2009Payton d'OroTerry ThompsonJ. Larry Jones
2008Sweet VendettaChanning HillGary C. Contessa
2007Panty RaidEdgar PradoTodd Pletcher
2006Regal Engagement*Ramon DominguezThomas M. Bush
2005Spun SugarJohn VelazquezTodd A. Pletcher
2004Yearly ReportJerry BaileyBob Baffert
2003Roar EmotionJohn VelazquezCarlos Martin
2002ChamrousseJerry BaileyNiall O'Callaghan
2001Two Item LimitRichard MiglioreStephen DiMauro
2000JostleKent DesormeauxJohn Servis
1999SilverbulletdayGary L. StevensBob Baffert
1998Added GoldJohn VelazquezJohn P. Campo
1997Salt ItCarlos MarquezDeborah Bodner
1996Mesabi MaidenMike E. SmithShug McGaughey
1995Serena's SongGary L. StevensD. Wayne Lukas
1994CaliphaRick WilsonBud Delp
1993Aztec HillMike E. SmithTom Bohannan
1992Miss LegalityChris McCarronSonny Hine
1991Wide CountrySantos ChavezRobert W. Camac
1990CharonCraig PerretEugene Navarro
1989Imaginary LadyGary L. StevensD. Wayne Lukas
1988Costly ShoesPat DayRoss Pearce
1987Grecian FlightCraig PerretJoseph H. Pierce
1986Family StyleChris McCarronD. Wayne Lukas
1985Koluctoos JillChris McCarronBruce N. Levine
1984Lucky Lucky LuckyAngel Cordero, Jr.D. Wayne Lukas
1983BatnaLisa D. RuchGlenn L. Ballenger
1982Delicate IceDon BrumfieldJames W. Murphy
1981Dame MysterieuseEddie MapleWoody Stephens
1980Weber City MissVincent BraccialeHoward M. Tesher