Dubai World Cup

  • 2018 Location: Meydan Racecourse – Dubai, United Arab Emirates
  • Inaugural Race: 1996
  • Distance: 2,000 meters (roughly 10 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-handed, Dirt
  • Age Qualifications: Four-year-olds and up (Northern Hemisphere) and three-year-olds and up (Southern Hemisphere)
  • 2018 Purse: $10.0 million
  • 2018 Race Date: Saturday, March 31
  • Notable Past Winners: California Chrome, Curlin, Animal Kingdom and Silver Charm.
Click Here to View Probable Fields for the 2018 Dubai World Cup Card!

Recent Dubai World Cup News

Past Results for Dubai World Cup

2017ArrogateUSKSA4Mike E. SmithBob BaffertJuddmonte Farms02:02.5
2016California ChromeUSUS5Victor EspinozaArt ShermanCalifornia Chrome LLC02:01.8
2015Prince BishopUAEUAE8William BuickSaeed bin SuroorHamdan bin Mohammed Al Maktoum02:03.2
2014African StoryUAEUAE7Silvestre de SousaSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing02:01.6
2013Animal KingdomUSAUS/US5Joel RosarioGraham MotionArrowfield Stud & Team Valor02:03.2
2012MonterossoUAEUAE5Mickael BarzalonaMahmood al ZarooniGodolphin Racing02:02.7
2011Victoire PisaJPNJPN4Mirco DemuroKatsuhiko SumiiYoshimi Ichikawa02:05.9
2010Glória de CampeãoFRABRA7T. J. PereiraPascal BaryStud Estrela Energia02:03.8
2009Well ArmedUSUS6Aaron GryderEoin G. HartyWinStar Farm LLC02:01.0
2008CurlinUSUS4Robby AlbaradoSteve AsmussenStonestreet Stables/Midnight Cry Stbl02:00.2
2007InvasorUSUAE5Fernando JaraKiaran McLaughlinHamdan Al Maktoum1:59:97
2006ElectrocutionistUAEUAE5Frankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing02:01.3
2005Roses in MayUSUS5John VelazquezDale L. RomansKen & Sarah Ramsey02:02.2
2004Pleasantly PerfectUSUS6Alex SolisRichard MandellaDiamond A Racing Corp.02:00.2
2003Moon BalladUAEUAE4Frankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing02:00.5
2002Street CryUAEUAE4Jerry BaileySaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing02:01.2
2001Captain SteveUSUS4Jerry BaileyBob BaffertMichael E. Pegram02:00.5
2000Dubai MillenniumUAEUAE4Frankie DettoriSaeed bin SuroorGodolphin Racing01:59.5
1999AlmutawakelUAEUAE4Richard HillsSaeed bin SuroorHamdan Al Maktoum02:00.7
1998Silver CharmUSUS4Gary StevensBob BaffertBob & Beverly Lewis02:04.3
1997SingspielGBRUAE5Jerry BaileyMichael StouteSheikh Mohammed02:01.9
1996CigarUSUS6Jerry BaileyWilliam I. MottAllen E. Paulson02:03.8

The 2016 & 2017 Dubai World Cup Replays

2017 Dubai World Cup Entries & Results

9Arrogate (USA)SmithBaffert2.102.10
5Gun Runner (USA)GerouxAsmussen4.60
11Neolithic (USA)VelazquezPletcher17.60
14Mubtaahij (IRE)SoumillonDe Kock
7Awardee (USA)TakeMatsunaga
12Hoppertunity (USA)PratBaffert
10Keen Ice (USA)CastellanoPletcher
4Lani (USA)MooreMatsunaga
1Apollo Kentucky (USA)LemaireYamauchi
6Move Up (GB)De VriesBin Suroor
2Long River (USA)BarzalonaBin Ghadayer
13Special Fighter (IRE)JaraRitchie
8Furia Cruzada (CHI)FresuCharpy
3Gold Dream (JPN)MoreiraHirata

History of the Dubai World Cup

The UAE’s Dubai is known globally for its unique brand of opulence, best personified by its jaw dropping skyscrapers, countless high-end retail establishments, and streets lined with exotic sports cars. Considering that it is the world’s fastest growing economy, it comes as no surprise that the city plays host to one of the premier horse races in the world: The Dubai World Cup.

Held annually since 1996, the Dubai World Cup was conceived by Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, who along with being the Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, is a world renowned figure in the horse racing industry and owner one of the largest Thoroughbred breeding operations. The Dubai World Cup race acts as the grand finale of the Dubai World Cup night, with 8 additional races preceding it. While the World Cup’s $10 million purse is no longer the richest race in the world, as the North Americas Pegasus Cup’s $12 million purse surpassed it in 2017, the combined purses of all nine races total close to $30 million, making it the single richest day in Thoroughbred racing today.

From its inaugural race to 2009, the Dubai World Cup was held at Nad al Sheba Racecourse. The first running featured a signature win from American Thoroughbred and future hall of famer Cigar took first place during the tail end of his dominant 16 race winning streak. In 2009, the Nad al Sheba course was closed and marked for demolition to make way for the newly conceived Meydan Racecourse where the event has taken place ever since. Coming to no one’s surprise, Meydan was designed to be the world’s largest integrated racing facility capable of seating 60,000 spectators. The track’s futuristic design has been recognized around the world, as it was chosen as one of the international filming locations for the 2016 blockbuster Star Trek Beyond.

Other notable Dubai World Cup winners include 1998 winner Silver Charm, (who challenged for the Triple Crown in the year prior), Hall of famers Invasor (2007 winner) and Curlin (2008 winner), and Kentucky Derby winner Animal Kingdom (2013 winner). The last two winners of the race are California Chrome, 2 time horse of the year and shoe-in for the hall of fame, and Arrogate, who captured his final win in Dubai in 2017 before suffering 3 consecutive defeats in route to retirement as the all time leading money earner in North America.