The United Nations Stakes: Key Race Facts

  • Location: Monmouth Park Racetrack
  • Inaugural Race: 1953
  • Current Distance: 1 & 3/8 miles (11 furlongs)
  • Track Type: Left-Handed Turf
  • Age Qualification: Three-year-olds & Up
  • 2015 Purse: $535,000

Video of the 2014 United Nations Stakes

Check out footage of the 2014 United Nations Stakes, where jockey Rajiv Maragh rode Main Sequence to a first place victory!

A Brief History of the United Nations Stakes

The United Nation Stakes has been held at Monmouth Park Racetrack in Oceanport, New Jersey since 1953.

Originally founded at the Atlantic City Race Course, the stakes was initially a distance of 1 3/16 miles but was made longer in 1999 when it was changed to be 1 3/8 miles because of its move to Monmouth Park.

The Chilean bred Icebeg II (trained by US Racing Hall of Fame inductee Horatio Luro and ridden by Jorge Conteras) destroyed the first edition in track record time.


The United Nations Stakes – Race Records

Scroll over any box below to view the historical records for the United Nations Stakes:

Fastest Time

Presious Passion (2009) 

Most Wins by a Jockey

Tied: Jorge Velasquez/Jose A. Santos

Most Wins by a Trainer

MacKenzie Miller

Most Wins by an Owner

Rokeby Stables

Historical Results for The United Nations Stakes

In the table below, view a record of the winners, including horses, jockeys and trainers for the United Nations Stakes.

20145Rajiv MaraghGraham MotionFlaxman Holdings02:14.2
2013Big Blue Kitten5Joe BravoChad C. BrownKenneth & Sarah Ramsey02:12.0
2012Turbo Compressor4Joe BravoTodd PletcherP and G Stable/Off the Hook02:12.9
2011Teaks North4Eddie CastroJustin SallustoJules Boutelle02:13.3
2010Chinchon5Garrett GomezCarlos Laffon-PariasDarpat S. L. Stables02:11.8
2009Presious Passion6Elvis TrujilloMary HartmannPat and Frank Generazio02:11.0
2008Presious Passion5Eddie CastroMary HartmannPat and Frank Generazio02:13.9
2007English Channel5John VelazquezTodd A. PletcherJames T. Scatuorchio02:12.9
2006English Channel4John VelazquezTodd A. PletcherJames T. Scatuorchio02:13.2
2005Better Talk Now6Ramon DominguezH. Graham MotionBushwood Stables LLC02:20.6
2004Request for Parole5Edgar PradoStanley M. HoughJeri & Sam Knighton02:13.4
2003Balto Star5Jose Velez, Jr.Todd A. PletcherAnstu Stables02:12.8
2002With Anticipation7Pat DayJonathan SheppardAugustin Stable02:12.8
2001Senure5Robbie DavisRobert J. FrankelJuddmonte Farms02:13.6
2000Down the Aisle7Robbie DavisWilliam I. MottCharles H. Deters02:13.6
1999Yagli6Jerry BaileyWilliam I. MottAllen E. Paulson02:16.0
1998no race0no raceno raceno race00:00.0
1997Influent6Jean-Luc SamynHoward M. TesherTurfinpaddock Farm01:53.6
1996Sandpit7Corey NakataniRichard E. MandellaSierra Thoroughbreds01:55.6
1995Sandpit6Corey NakataniRichard E. MandellaSierra Thoroughbreds01:57.2
1994Lure5Mike E. SmithC. R. McGaughey IIIClaiborne Farm/Gamely Corp.01:52.6
1993Star of Cozzene5Jose A. SantosMark HennigTeam Valor01:53.2
1992Sky Classic5Pat DayJames E. DaySam-Son Farm01:52.2
1991Exbourne5Chris McCarronRobert J. FrankelJuddmonte Farm01:52.6
1990Steinlen7Jose A. SantosD. Wayne LukasDaniel Wildenstein01:52.0
1989Yankee Affair7Pat DayHenry L. CarrollJujugen Stable01:53.2
1988Equalize6Jose A. SantosAngel Penna, Sr.Alejandro Menditeguy01:53.6
1987Manila4Jacinto VasquezLeRoy JolleyBradley M. Shannon01:58.8
1986Manila3Jose A. SantosLeRoy JolleyBradley M. Shannon01:52.6
1985Ends Well4Michael MorganRobert J. Reinacher, Jr.Greentree Stable01:54.6
1984Hero's Honor4Jerry BaileyMacKenzie MillerRokeby Stables01:54.0
1983Acaroid5Angel Cordero, Jr.Jan H. NerudTartan Stable01:53.4
1982Naskra's Breeze5Jean-Luc SamynPhilip G. JohnsonBroadmoor Stable01:55.6
1981Key To Content4George MartensMacKenzie MillerRokeby Stables01:52.8
1980Lyphard's Wish4Angel Cordero, Jr.Angel Penna, Sr.Daniel Wildenstein01:53.8
1979Noble Dancer7Jacinto VasquezThomas J. KellyHaakon Fretheim01:56.4
1978Noble Dancer6Steve CauthenThomas J. KellyHaakon Fretheim01:56.4
1977Bemo7Don BrumfieldJohn W. MurphyHickory Tree Stable01:54.0
1976Intrepid Hero4Sandy HawleyJohn W. RussellOgden Mills Phipps01:53.4
1975Royal Glint5Jorge TejeiraGordon R. PotterDan Lasater01:57.0
1974Halo5Jorge VelasquezMacKenzie MillerCragwood Stable01:56.8
1973Tentam4Jorge VelasquezMacKenzie MillerE. P. Taylor01:54.6
1972Acclimatization4Carlos BarreraMaurice ZilberNelson Bunker Hunt01:54.0
1971Run The Gantlet3Robert WoodhouseJ. Elliott BurchRokeby Stables02:02.0
1970Fort Marcy6Jorge VelasquezJ. Elliott BurchRokeby Stables01:56.0
1969Hawaii5Jorge VelasquezMacKenzie MillerCragwood Stable02:00.6
1968Dr. Fager4Braulio BaezaJohn A. NerudTartan Stable01:55.2
1967Flit-to4Hedley WoodhouseJames P. ConwayRobert Lehman01:54.0
1966Assagai3Larry AdamsMacKenzie MillerCragwood Stable01:58.6
1965Parka7Walter BlumWarren A. Croll, Jr.Pelican Stable01:54.4
1964Western Warrior5Heliodoro GustinesJohn A. NerudTartan Stable01:57.8
1963Mongo4Wayne ChambersFrank A. BonsalMarion duPont Scott01:54.4
1962Mongo3Charlie BurrFrank A. BonsalMarion duPont Scott01:56.6
1961Oink4Larry GilliganSteve IppolitoJack Hogan01:56.0
1960T. V. Lark3Johnny SellersPaul K. ParkerPreston W. Madden01:57.0
1959Round Table5Bill ShoemakerWilliam MolterClaiborne Farm/Kerr Stable01:55.2
1958Clem4Bill ShoemakerWilliam W. StephensAdele L. Rand01:54.6
1957Round Table3Bill ShoemakerWilliam MolterClaiborne Farm/Kerr Stable01:56.2
1956Career Boy3Sam Boulmetis, Sr.Sylvester VeitchC. V. Whitney01:56.2
1955Blue Choir4Bill HartackBuster LillyHarry L. Nathenson02:00.0
1954Closed Door5Bill HartackSidney JacobsJaclyn Stable01:57.0
1953Iceberg II5Jorge ContrerasHoratio LuroW. Arnold Hanger01:55.8