Hawksmoor Among Big Names Entered Saturday at Laurel

Off Limits (right) edges Hawksmoor (left) in the Matriarch Stakes (gr. I) - © BENOIT PHOTO On a quiet Saturday with relatively few graded stakes races on the agenda, racing fans are advised to turn their attention to a quality card at Laurel Park that includes five stakes races. The day’s feature events are the $125,000 Federico Tesio Stakes and the $125,000 Weber City Miss Stakes, which serve as preps for the upcoming Preakness Stakes (gr. I) and [...]

How to Bet the Federico Tesio Stakes

If you’re keeping an eye out for those up-and-coming “new shooters” that so often turn up in the Preakness Stakes (gr. I) at Pimlico, then I recommend that you take a look at Saturday’s $125,000 Federico Tesio Stakes at Laurel Park. The nine-furlong race serves as a local prep for the Preakness and even offers the winner an automatic entry into the second leg of the Triple Crown. Perhaps as a result, the Federico Tesio has drawn a wide-open field [...]

Layla Noor Returns in Weber City Miss Stakes

Trainer Mark Casse will send out Shamrock Rose in the Weber City Miss Stakes (Keeneland Photo/Coady Photography) At this time of year, it pays to keep an eye on every significant stakes races for three-year-olds around the country, because you never know where the next up-and-coming star might come from. That’s why handicappers should keep an eye on Saturday’s $125,000 Weber City Miss Stakes at Laurel Park. The 8.5-furlong race three-year-old fillies has attracted a competitive field of [...]

Admirals War Chest Seeks Third Maryland Million Classic

The annual race meeting celebrating the Maryland Thoroughbred industry is upon us again, with full fields carded for Jim McKay Maryland Million Day at Laurel Park Oct. 21. Founded after broadcaster Jim McKay found inspiration from the inaugural Breeders’ Cup in 1984, the idea of a rich race day limited to horses sired by a stallion based in Maryland came to fruition two years later, and it’s been run every year since. The 11-race card features seven “championship” races: two [...]